met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Laundry Room Renovation- Labor of love!

One of the wish list items when looking for our new home was a large laundry room! Compared to our last laundry area, which was a walk through to our garage, this laundry room is quite spacious!

Although spacious, it was definitely lacking in character. I lived with it for a while until I decided what changes needed to be made to make the space updated and efficient!

Here it is, drum roll please….

Image

To appreciate the renovation, it’s only fair that I show you the Before picture of this room, so here it is, blah, blah, blah…boring!

Image

See what I mean- I admit, I cleared the shelves of cleaning products and took some pictures off of the walls, but all in all it was quite a boring room! 🙂

After coming up with a design plan, we took the wire shelves down from the walls and removed the workshop sink and started from scratch!

We decided on a color for the walls- I made a few suggestions and to my surprise, my husband pushed for the more neutral choice! Gray it is! 🙂

Although most of the changes took place on the busy washer and dryer wall, we wanted to add character to the opposite wall. We did that by adding wainscoting to the lower section and and a white mirror with hooks on the above wall!

Image

We bought and painted unfinished cabinets in a deeper shade of the same color as the walls!

Image

We decided to use a granite look laminate counter top- We found one that ties the gray cabinets and walls in with the tan ceramic tiles on the floor!

Image

We added the stainless steel sink and faucet, and stainless steel tile back splash for a nice little work area…it’ll be perfect to wash the dog, since he weighs a whopping 7 pounds! 🙂

Image

We added a rod between cabinets to hang clothes to dry and get ready for ironing!

We also built a shelf behind the washer and dryer to fill in the space and keep lint from falling behind there. It also works as a nice place to add jars to keep organized!

Image

Well, there you have it- our newly renovated laundry room!

There were a few steps to completing this project-

We decided on a budget and design plan, paint colors, stainless finishes on the back splash, sink and faucet and cabinet knobs and pulls. We painted walls, painted cabinets, placed pulls, put up cabinets, cut out laminate and added sink and faucet, cut, painted and attached rod to cabinets, made shelf and attached to wall with brackets, and attached wainscoting and trim to the other wall!

Although it seems like a lengthy list of things to do, we took it one step at a time and in a matter of a few weekends we were finished!

Lovingly,

Heidi

Ps- I named this post …”Laundry Room Renovation- labor of love” for a reason. As I was thinking about this project and what the theme would be, I thought of how happy this room makes me. I mean happier than it should! 😉 I’d been sick for the 5 weeks after Christmas and my husband decided it was time for a project to inspire me. He took out the graph paper and sat down with me and started planning. It was exactly what I needed. He lovingly went along with all of my suggestions and worked so hard to complete this project with me. Or should I say I completed it with him, as he did the brunt of the work! He knew what to do to speak my love language at a time when I truly needed it! I’m so grateful for This Labor of Love and especially for my husband!

What is your love language and how are you incredibly blessed?

I recommend the book, The 5 Love Languages, by Gary Chapman- Here’s a short description of what the book is all about…

Marriages may be made in heaven, but they must be nurtured here on earth. In this new paperback edition of Dr. Gary Chapman’s bestselling book, The Five Love Languages, he explains how people communicate love in different ways, and shares the wonderful things that happen when men and women learn to speak each other’s language.”

17 comments on “Laundry Room Renovation- Labor of love!

  1. Maureen Mason
    February 25, 2014

    That has got to be the fanciest laundry room I have ever seen!!!!! It looks great!!!! Not to mention your reference to the 5 love languages…..fab read.

    • hvalardi
      February 25, 2014

      Awe, Maureen, you’re so sweet. Thanks for commenting, it’s always so encouraging! xo Heidi

      On Tue, Feb 25, 2014 at 5:28 PM, met*a*mor*pho*sis living: wrote:

      >

  2. Dianna
    February 25, 2014

    Love it!!!

    • hvalardi
      February 25, 2014

      Thanks Dianna~
      I’m so excited for you and the new house-
      It looks like they’ve done so much already-
      Do you have any reno projects in mind?
      xoxo heidi

  3. Ariel
    February 25, 2014

    LOVE. LOVE. LOVE. Phenomenal makeover!!

    • hvalardi
      February 25, 2014

      Thanks Ariel-
      Glad you love it as much as me!
      xoxo

  4. Tara stetina
    February 25, 2014

    Heidi,

    Love this! We are in the process of building our home here in CO. We are hoping to be finished in August. Framing is just about complete. I know we are far from a laundry room completion, but your post really gets me excited for a laundry room! I feel like I do laundry for a living. After seeing your beautiful work, I know I need a folding space, a big sink for our future dog, and a rod for drying. Thanks you!!

    Love you,
    Tara

    • hvalardi
      February 25, 2014

      Tara-
      It’s so good to hear from you-
      Congratulations on the new home…
      can’t wait to see it. So glad I
      could inspire you! xoxoxo….Heidi

  5. Christine Page
    February 25, 2014

    Can I just say “Wow” !! Heidi you continue to floor me with your talent for interior design! The transformation from your “before” pic to now is nothing short of amazing! How wonderful that your hubby and yourself were able to create & complete this project together. Thank you for sharing & keep up the great work! XO

  6. hvalardi
    February 25, 2014

    Thanks so much Christine-
    You are so encouraging, and I appreciate
    your kind words so much……!

    -Heidi

  7. David
    February 26, 2014

    I think that this room is one of the nicest in the house now!! Just needs a mini fridge and a TV and I could live in there!

  8. hvalardi
    February 26, 2014

    Hahaha, I might be able to manage the mini fridge and the tv…
    I’ll have to work on designing a murphy sofa to make the “man cave” official! 😉

  9. Kim
    February 28, 2014

    Heidi, your laundry room is amazing! It’s almost too fancy for laundry. 😉 What a great thing your husband did to bring you back to full health! I’m heading off to catch up on some other posts. I apologize for not visiting more often, but I love to stop by occasionally and see what you’ve been doing.
    His blessings,
    Kim

  10. hvalardi
    March 1, 2014

    Kim, your words are water to my soul, thank you! 🙂

  11. rr
    April 26, 2014

    I had to laugh…….I had to have surgery and then bedrest for a week to recover. My darling husband wanted to keep me company upstairs in the master bedroom so he came up with this great idea to build cabinets and shelves in an alcove as a way to keep me company while I” rested”. That was 7 days of hammering, sawing, painting and loud power tools right next to my head!! He created this beautiful unit and for 13 years…..every time I walked by it …..I smiled at the memory!

    • hvalardi
      April 27, 2014

      That is a wonderful story- I call that a labor of love…just means so much! Thank you for sharing! 😃

  12. Terri Waterman
    April 26, 2014

    Can you share the two paint colors you used? Gorgeous!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

