met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Wood & Glass Hurricane Lamps

Hurricane lamps are hot right now-

They’re quite a statement piece and being used quite a lot in home decor!

I love them, and I love candles, so I thought  I’d see what I could come up with…

I decided on wood and glass hurricane lamps, check them out!

Image

They were a cinch to make. Let me show you…

Image

All that you need is a large glass vase like the one above, a wood slat place mat, and a hot glue gun. I decided to make a matching pair, so I’m doubling the supplies!

Image

The next step is simply to wrap the place mat around the hurricane vase and hot glue the place mat where it attaches, that’s it!

Image

I made one with the wood slats facing out and one with the cloth material facing out- they each have a nice look, and I really don’t know which I prefer! I love the look of them both….

Image

I’m not sure where I’ll use them, but for now I have them on the fireplace hearth. They really come to life when lit with the lights turned down. Check them out…

Image

I placed one of them on a silver candle holder to give it a lift. The light shines down and glows from the top and the bottom, which is lovely!

Image

Originally, I placed a jar candle in the hurricane lamp, but found that a votive works best. It burns for a couple of hours and goes out on it’s own!

Image

This is just another creative way to let light fill your home- 

In what creative ways do you let light shine from your life?

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

How can you let your light shine in your home, your neighborhood, your work place, your life?

Since our light supply is Jesus, we’ve got to be bold and allow Him to be seen in us, shining through us. It’s truly the only way to SHINE!

Hope you’re inspired to shine on…

Heidi  

3 comments on “Wood & Glass Hurricane Lamps

  1. Kim
    February 13, 2014

    These are beautiful! I love the idea of placing them on the hearth -great for a romantic Valentine’s night. 🙂 I notice you’ve been busy. Everything looks great! His blessings,
    Kim

    • hvalardi
      February 13, 2014

      Hi Kim- Thanks for stopping by. I’m not nearly as busy as you…but will probably get going a bit more with Spring approaching! 😉 Happy Valentines Day!!! xo

  2. David
    February 13, 2014

    I absolutely love them!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

