met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

-Love Mantel-

For Valentine’s Day I decided to decorate our mantel in a Love theme-

I figured why not, it’s Valentine’s Day!

Image

And besides, what greater theme than love-

It’s a word that’s often over used and under valued, but really there’s no greater thing…

1 Corinthians 13:13  “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.

                                       But the greatest of these is love.”

Image

I used the LOVE letters and silver sculpture to develop this theme- both things I’ve had. The sculpture was a gift to my husband one year for our anniversary, so it’s sentimental and goes well with the theme!

Image

There are a couple of things I’ve made special for this years Valentine’s themed mantel…

One is the hurricane vase with pink ribbon and sweet heart candies.These were easy to assemble. I took a small glass and turned it over and centered it inside the vase. I poured one bag of sweet heart candies around the glass to look as if the vase is full of candies. I placed a candle votive on the glass and added a pink ribbon to the vase for the finishing touch!

Image

The other project was the Valentine banner.  The first thing I did was measure out the twine so it would drape well. Then I punched holes in vintage Valentines. I added craft paper to the backs of some of the Valentines to give them interest! I used twine to attach them, and that’s it!

Image

I had another thought while planning this mantel…

…and that is that as much as I love “this” mantel, there’s another mantle that I’d love even more and that would be a mantle of love– That is, to be “cloaked” in love, with love being the foundation of every thought and action- That’s my desire!

(definition of mantle- a figurative cloak symbolizing preeminence or authority)

Well, These are my latest projects and thoughts on mantels and mantles

Putting LOVE on display in our home decor and putting LOVE on display in our lives!

Hope you enjoyed and are inspired~ If so, feel free to share this post and inspire others!

xoxo Heidi xoxo

3 comments on “-Love Mantel-

  1. Ariel
    January 26, 2014

    Love, love, love this. Especially the hurricane jars with the sweetheart candies. I’m definitely going to have to replicate it sometime! ❤

  2. David
    January 28, 2014

    What a beautiful and colorful mantle! I bet it will take your husband months to eat all those candies!

    • hvalardi
      January 28, 2014

      I’m glad you like it, because you have no choice! Love you! 🙂

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

