met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Fresh Cut greenery~ simple elegance

 “Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.”   ~Leonardo DaVinci

With all that’s going on with Christmas decor during the holiday season, it’s easy to overdue it and difficult to keep it simple!

One key to a peaceful home is keeping it simple!

A key to keeping it simple is balancing the room’s decor. For example, if you have a busy hutch, then you might want to keep the centerpiece simple. That’s what I did in my dining room…

Image

I decided to arrange fresh cut greens from my back yard into a glass container that works with my color scheme. I wanted to hide the stems of the greens. I did so by adding plastic wrap to the base of the vase before adding water! It’s a simple touch that makes a big difference! It looks somewhat like crushed ice once the water is added!

Image

I took a walk in the back yard and decided on Magnolia and Arborvitae greens. Then I added a few white flowers for contrast. I will add fresh greens and flowers as needed.

Image

To finish the look, I added a few twigs to the centerpiece. I was tempted to add a bow and an ornament and was able to resist that temptation~ It was a “less is more” decision. Now, if I can leave it alone and remember the importance of just keeping it simple, I’ll do well! 🙂

This reminds me of keeping our lives simple as far as keeping the simple truth of the gospel, and living in that truth. That requires our attention, because it’s very easy to add mixture to the simple truth. (Like when we are tempted to add those bows and ornaments when they will actually take away from the simple beauty!)

That happens when we stray from the source of truth, which is the Word of God, and living life in the Spirit of God!  

   “Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through         me.” John 14:6  

In the natural and in the spiritual, it’s wise to keep simplicity in the forefront of our minds!

I’d love to hear about some of your ideas for keeping the simplicity of the season~

All for Jesus,

Heidi xoxo      

Jesus=Simple Truth

2 comments on “Fresh Cut greenery~ simple elegance

  1. Linda
    December 15, 2013

    i love this! and the quotes you shared. i am a true believer that life is better with simplicity. You are a very special gift to the body of Christ! love you, girl

    • hvalardi
      December 15, 2013

      Thank you so much Linda~ It was great hearing this today! 🙂

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

