met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Christmas~ child-like Wonder!

Christmas is upon us and I have mixed emotions!

With all that’s going on in the world, I’m lacking in Christmas joy, and enthusiasm!

In planning my mantle this year, I knew I needed to bring in a sense of wonder, a bit of child-like wonder at Christmastime. The key for me, was to add child-like wonder without being childish, if you know what I mean!

I decided on making two jar villages and I’m delighted with how they came out!

They bring in a bit of child-like whimsy, yet still go with the rest of the mantle!

early christmas and amiah 0011

It’s seeing through the eyes of a child, at a time when we need to be reminded of the

wonderful blessings that are all around us!

early christmas and amiah 0032

These Wonder-filled glass villages remind me of these scriptures~

Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me.” ~ Matthew 18:2-5

They speak of a pure, uncomplicated, simple faith~ one I’m sure is filled with Wonder!

Like these glass villages, this kind of faith isn’t childish at all, just pure and uncomplicated!

I love that!

You can easily make these~ Here’s how:

1. Gather a tall glass container of your choice.

2. Layer 2-3″ of fake snow or salt at the base of the glass container.

3. Place a small birdhouse or miniature house in the center of the container.

4. Cut some evergreens to fill in the back of the container.

5. Use small ornaments to fill in the rest of the base. I used gold pine cones and miniature glass ornaments to finish it off!

These are easy, uncomplicated and delightful~ and can be made on a budget!

I purchased all of the materials at Target, so it was very economical!

early christmas and amiah 0043

These glass villages remind me to see with eyes of a child~ Something we all need to

remember not only during this Christmas season, but every day!

Enjoy making your own!

~Heidi xo

576658_671072096256564_1358264585_n

7 comments on “Christmas~ child-like Wonder!

  1. David
    December 3, 2013

    Those look wonderful! I can’t wait to see them in person. I bet your husband could make you those little bird houses or people houses very quickly and easily.

    • hvalardi
      December 3, 2013

      Hmmm, if only he had a workshop! 🙂

  2. Ariel
    December 4, 2013

    LOVE THEM!!

  3. Sarah
    December 4, 2013

    I Love this idea; but mostly I love YOU!

    • hvalardi
      December 4, 2013

      Awe, thanks Sarah~ Love you too sis! xo

  4. Rebecca
    December 6, 2013

    My mom and I used to collect little Christmas village ornaments each year and I used to love them! They were shaped like a sphere and plugged into Christmas tree lights. The electricity would power some sort of animation. Robyn has one in her room right now where a bunny is pushing another little creature on a tire swing. It was always so special to go get the ornament each year. Your projects reminds me of that. There’s something about the beauty of Christmas that brings so much joy.

    • hvalardi
      December 6, 2013

      I agree…I think much has to do with the memories we capture and bring into the future!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

