met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

drift wood Christmas tree~

It’s All in a day’s Walk!

On my walk this morning, I started picking up drift wood, or should I say dead wood, that came from the trunk of a dead tree! Right away I thought of how I’d like to make a rustic Christmas tree using these pieces of dead wood.

Image

As I walked, I challenged myself to find everything I needed to make a Christmas tree. I picked an armful of dead wood. Then I found an old weathered post, a strip of bark, a pine cone and a pocketful of what I believe are Poplar tree fruit!

I smiled as I had the thought, “It’s all in a day’s walk”~ I didn’t need to go to the craft store for supplies. It didn’t cost me a penny to make this tree, and it didn’t take me any time at all.

Image

Some may say, It’s a bunch of dead wood…not worth anything.

This reminds me of the analogy of people being as dead wood!

John 15:6 Anyone who separates from me is deadwood, gathered up and thrown on the bonfire.

But I say it’s Priceless! Really it was about the challenge to find use for the “useless” and to bring beauty out of “dead wood”!

I’ve always loved taking nothing and making something~ God loves to do that with us!

John 15:16  “You didn’t choose me, remember; I chose you, and put you in the world to bear fruit, fruit that won’t spoil. As fruit bearers, whatever you ask the Father in relation to me, he gives you.

Image

The craft itself was easy.

1.Hot glue the bark on the base of the tree.

2.Space out the dead wood and hot glue it to the trunk.

3.Hot glue the pine cone to the top of the tree.

4.Lastly, hot glue the Poplar fruit to the tree as ornaments!

Image

John 15:7  “But if you make yourselves at home with me and my words are at home in you, you can be sure that whatever you ask will be listened to and acted upon.”

Image

John 15:8-9  “This is how my Father shows who He is – when you produce grapes, when you mature as my disciples. I’ve loved you the way my Father has loved me. Make yourselves at home in my love.”

Go from THIS….

Image

To THIS!

Image

There’s always a purpose why He does what He does, and it’s for You!

John 15:10 “I’ve told you these things for a purpose: that my joy might be your joy, and your joy wholly mature.”

Fully in His Joy~

~ Heidi ~

*Read John 15: 6-16 in the Message version…good stuff! 😉

8 comments on “drift wood Christmas tree~

  1. David
    November 25, 2013

    What a beautiful idea and a beautiful tree!

    • hvalardi
      November 25, 2013

      Thank you for your ongoing encouragement! 🙂

  2. Sarah
    November 26, 2013

    I can tell you have really been taking the time to showcase your projects with thoughtful photography! I love you sis!

  3. innercity51
    November 27, 2013

    Yay Heidi! I don’t go anywhere without my glue gun :)!

    • hvalardi
      November 27, 2013

      Girl, I sure do miss you! Praying you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!

  4. Rebecca
    December 6, 2013

    This is an encouraging post! I enjoyed reading it! You have such a gift for creating beauty!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2013 by in Collecting, create, Creativity, decor, diy, recycled art, wood and tagged , , , , , , , .
