met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Drum Shade Sconce made easy!

The sconces on either side of the fireplace needed updating, so they got it!!!

I shopped around and didn’t find anything that I liked that were large enough to work well in this area. Small sconces, like the old ones, would disappear visually because the ceilings are so high!

Image

One day it dawned on me that I could update these sconces on my own by wrapping and attaching something to the old fixture. Now I just had to find the “something” in which to wrap them!

Then I found these wood place mats at a thrift store and picked them up. I liked both the wood side and the linen side and had to decide which side looked better…

Image

I decided the wood side would compliment the granite fireplace surround!

Image

I decided where to attach the wood mats and used hot glue to make them permanent!

Between you and me, the first couple of times I turned the lights on, I wondered whether the glue would get hot and cause the wood to fall off~ fortunately, it didn’t!  Phew….!

Image

We had a bit of concern that the wood of the new sconce would block the light, but soon found out that it diffused it in a beautiful way~

In much the same way, we are not to allow anything to block or interfere with His light shining from us!

“You are the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house.”

Image

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.”

Image

I really love the sconce solution~ the wood sconces themselves are modern and textural, yet light in color, so they blend in with everything around them during the day. Then at night, they show off!

Matthew 5:14-16

Hope this post gives you a “light bulb” moment,

as to where You can update a fixture in a non traditional way!

~just keep shining the Light!

“While you have the Light, believe in the Light, so that you may become sons of Light.” John 12:36

~heidi~

4 comments on “Drum Shade Sconce made easy!

  1. David
    November 20, 2013

    The pictures are really beautiful as are the new sconce shades!

  2. Kim
    November 20, 2013

    Beautiful! 🙂

  3. Diane Aldred
    November 21, 2013

    Hi Heidi, I have enjoyed all your ideas and spiritual connections, your daughter is following in your footsteps and I pray she will also follow in your spiritual footsteps too, you are a blessing, keep giving it away !!!
    Diane

    • hvalardi
      November 21, 2013

      Thank you Dianne. This is one of the nicest things I’ve ever been told! I love “giving it away” and thank you for noticing! 😀 Heidi

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

