met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Night Stand~ Given New Life

Image

My daughter Ariel has caught the bug~ the “All things DIY” bug that is…

This is the night stand she recently refinished. It’s Beautiful isn’t it!!!

Since this was her first re-finishing project, I had to take pictures!

Then I figured since I was taking pictures, I might as well blog about it…Here it is before…Image

Lovely isn’t it…Not! 🙂

This is how we found it at a yard sale, and the price was right at $5.00, so that was that. It was going to be the next project!

Image

As you can see she had to sand quite a bit to get a smooth finish on this piece!

Image

Next, she used a tack cloth and wiped it all down very well.

Then, she proceeded to use Kilz primer to prime the whole thing.

She ended up priming with two coats, to keep the stain from bleeding through.

*did you notice she’s working in the garage bare footed. Ya. She has a mind of her own! :/

Lastly, she painted two coats of white satin paint and painted the silver pull…put it back together and she was one happy camper!

Image

She did a fine job, and feels the satisfaction that comes with bringing a piece back to life!

It’s exhilarating to see something go from dark and dreary to light, bright and beautiful, isn’t it?

This is much like when someone receives Jesus into their lives~ They’re given a second chance on life, a new life in Christ!

Their darkness turns to light, and their hope is set higher, to the promises of God.

Colossians 3:1

“Since you have been raised to new life with Christ, set your sights on the realities of heaven”

Image

Colossians 3:2

“Let heaven fill your thoughts. Do not think only about things down here on earth.”

So here’s to New Life in Christ~ If you haven’t asked Him into your heart, today is the day…Dear Jesus, Today is the day that I give my life to you. I believe you are the son of God, and died for my sins. Please forgive me of my sins and come live in me. Show me how to receive your love and love others the way you love us! Lead me and guide me in this new life with you!  In Jesus’ name I pray,

Amen.

If you have previously asked Him into your heart, but need renewed life and strength, I will agree with you for that right now!

Dear Jesus, I love you and desire to live a victorious life in you. Fill me with your peace and presence in a new way. Renew my life with a Heavenly perspective, so all things that weigh me down will grow strangely dim. Remind me of your promises for me, so I can walk in renewed life! In Jesus’ name I pray,

Amen

God Bless you~ Heidi

 

Image

I couldn’t resist taking a picture of Ariel’s cat Molly~ she was posing so beautifully!

Have a wonderful weekend!

7 comments on “Night Stand~ Given New Life

  1. Ariel
    November 16, 2013

    love, love, love!!! ❤ but maybe i am a bit biased 😉

  2. Rebecca
    November 16, 2013

    Wow!! Way to go, Ariel! I had no idea the nightstand used to be so different when I saw it the other month!

    • hvalardi
      November 16, 2013

      ❤ I'll pass the message along!

  3. KILZ Brands
    November 18, 2013

    Hello! My name is Katy and I’m the social media coordinator for KILZ brand products. Great job repurposing an old yard sale table. The final result is simply beautiful! We are glad our primer worked great on your project and we would love for you to share your experience by writing a review. Visit our review page, select the product used, rate and write a brief description and hit submit – it’s that simple! We appreciate the feedback! Thanks!

    Link to review page: http://www.kilz.com/primer/v/index.jsp?vgnextoid=8ad359ff4f72d310VgnVCM100000176310acRCRD

  4. David
    November 19, 2013

    Boy she did a beautiful job!!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

