met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Fast, Fun No-Sew Pillow

As Fall approached, I kept my eyes open for an embroidered Fall pillow, something special that I could take out just for the Fall season.

I was amazed at the price tag placed on what I found~ William Sonoma pillows were between $99. -$199. for one pillow…ouch!

That inspired me to find another way of doing this, short of a long embroidery project!Image

This is what I came up with. I found this really fun and cheerful embroidered place mat, and quickly knew what I’d do with it!

All I needed was the right material for the back and I’d be ready to go…

I didn’t have what I needed, but I did have a canvas tote bag that was never going to be used, so that’s what I used to make the back.

Image

I cut the tote with the seem in the middle, and ironed down the edges to fit the place mat.

I then (don’t cringe…) hot glued the front to the back!

I figured the pillow was primarily decorative, so it really didn’t matter how strong a bond!

It looks nice, and if I didn’t just go and spill the beans, no one would be the wiser…!   🙂

Image

I realized at some point, that although the pillow looks great with Fall colors, it will look equally good with Spring and Summer colors. You will likely be seeing more of this fast and fun No-Sew pillow!

Do you have any tricks to getting expensive looking pillows for pennies?

If so, please do share!

A previous pillow post, plush, modern gray Place Mat Pillow~ check it out!

Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.”

❤ Heidi

6 comments on “Fast, Fun No-Sew Pillow

  1. David
    November 8, 2013

    Great idea! Guess we you don’t have to get the sewing machine fixed any time soon!

  2. Ariel
    November 8, 2013

    Love your tricks for making quick, easy pillows! Will come in handy one day for this chick who doesn’t know how to sew properly.

    • hvalardi
      November 8, 2013

      You’re too funny~ The first time my sewing machine broke, I got very creative with duct tape, and glue guns! 😀

  3. Linda
    November 9, 2013

    lovely pillow and great idea! For me, i check out thrift stores. You can pick up a sanitized pillow for under $5. But i’m not crafty like you. ❤ you, sis

    • hvalardi
      November 9, 2013

      Awe, thanks so much Linda~
      Thrift store finds are awesome! 🙂

  4. Rebecca
    November 12, 2013

    You are so creative! I’d love to sync up and do a project together sometime. I’m actually getting together with friends for a Pinterest party soon, which stemmed from a conversation with coworkers shortly after I came to visit and was talking about crafting. I’ll have to show you pictures of whatever we end up making.

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

