met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Mounted Deer Head~ DIY

I recently wrote our testimony on how The Sanctuary came to be. 

~Mounted Deer head~ The Story of the Sanctuary~

Now the DIY~

Here are the promised DIY instructions on how to make this mounted deer head!

Image

“As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul longs after you, my God.” Psalm 42:1

The Process~

1.Collect the materials needed.

Cedar board back~ I cut cedar board to 14″ x 20″ (You can use any wood)

Foam board~12″ x 12″ is all you need to cut the design you’d like to use

Material to cover foam board~ I chose a large graphic black and white print

Deer head~ I used the head from an old gold Christmas deer

leather cord, or twine

small wooden plaque

black chalk board paint

glue, hot glue & hanger for back.

2. Glue cedar boards together by hot gluing paint sticks along the back of the boards. Attach hanger to the center top of the boards.

3. Cut a circle, oval or another shape out of the foam board.

4. Cover foam shape with the material. Use spray glue for a smooth finish.

5. Glue the material covered shape onto the center of the boards.

6. Spray paint the deer head if you want to change the color~ You might do this first!

7. Hot glue the deer head to the shape, after centering it on the shape.

8. Carefully glue the edges of the deer head with leather cord or twine to give it a finished look, leaving extra cord at the ends to connect the plaque. (optional)

9. Paint small wooden plaque chalkboard black, let dry and attach to the cord.

10. Write a message on the plaque that has meaning or represents something special to YOU! 🙂

Image

 Habakkuk 3:19  “The Sovereign Lord is my strength; He makes my feet like the feet

of a deer, He enables me to tread on the heights.”

 

If you have any other questions, feel free to ask~ I’d love to help you!

🙂  Heidi

“The Sanctuary”

our home 2013

3 comments on “Mounted Deer Head~ DIY

  1. David
    October 31, 2013

    I love the deer head. What a beautiful picture of your home!

  2. Ariel
    November 2, 2013

    I love how you turned something that was passé into something so modern and original!

    • hvalardi
      November 2, 2013

      I’m so glad I didn’t throw out that gold deer…I was so tempted! 😀

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

