met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Potato bin to Plant Stand~ position yourself…

Although I had no idea of it’s future purpose, I bought this old potato bin as a challenge~

As you can see, it has found renewed life and purpose!

Image

Here it is before it’s promotion to plant stand~

Image

You can just imagine how truly gross this was~

but considering the years of use, it was in good condition!

I saw HOPE when I looked at it~ much like how God sees hope in us when we don’t!

 

~Steps to Promotion, from potato bin to plant stand!

1. Thorough Cleaning!

This bin needed cleaning inside and out. I scrubbed and disinfected and so on…For us, God does the cleaning as we yield to Him.

    Psalm 113:7 
    “He raises the poor from the dust and lifts the needy from the ash heap,”

2. Get the Vision!

With every promotion, there needs to be a vision…God’s plan and purpose! With the potato bin, I got an idea of what it was suppose to        be and how it was to look.

  Colossians 1:26 

      “The mystery hidden for ages and generations but now revealed to his saints.”

3. Step out in faith, and bring God’s planned design to life!

  Colossians 3:23

      “Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men”

 

Taking the steps to bringing The plan to life…

I cut out a design out of wallpaper. You could use a stencil or make your own design!

Image

Then I used spray adhesive and lightly glued the design to the bin~

Image

I painted the entire bin in a rough coat of white paint, working carefully around the design to keep the paint from running under the stencil!

After I was sure the paint was dry, I peeled the stenciled design off and carefully wiped off any residual glue!

I roughly sanded the white paint to give it a worn look!

Image

I think it goes well with the board and batten wall in our family room~

Image

Sidenote:

A bonus is that it’ll work well for extra storage, as I cleaned the inside as well as the outside! (I could take this thought and run with it, but I won’t do that to you, not today!)  😉

I hope you enjoyed this spiritual analogy and practical diy!

I sure had fun writing it! Thanks for joining me today~

Always, Heidi  🙂

I pray you have a wonderful weekend, keeping your spiritual eyes open to see God’s beauty in His creation!  ❤

4 comments on “Potato bin to Plant Stand~ position yourself…

  1. David
    October 25, 2013

    A secret hiding place!! Never thought of that one.

    • hvalardi
      October 25, 2013

      Exactly what I was thinking, but didn’t say it because I wanted to keep it a secret…! 🙂

  2. Karen Mekjian
    October 25, 2013

    You are so creative, gifted, talented…and loved !

    • hvalardi
      October 25, 2013

      Thank You Karen~ I can honestly say the same for you!
      Your home is absolutely gorgeous, and so are You, inside and out! ❤

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

