met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Bed Crown- easy diy!

Well, a few days ago, I posted our master bedroom make-over which included this bed crown.

I am excited to share with you how I made this…

Here it is, do you have any idea what it was before it became a bed crown?

sconces in fr and master bed w silver 0233

If you guessed pot rack, you guessed correctly!

I had this half round pot rack in my former kitchen. I hung it over

a window pane mirror and it held pretty bottles of oil and herbs!

When we moved here, I had no place for it, but tucked it away

as I knew we’d find a purpose for it!

sconces in fr and master bed w silver 0245

Can you picture it turned upright as a pot rack?

It actually made the transition into a bed crown quite gracefully…

Turned upside down, allowed a place to attach the material!

master makeover & charlottesville trip fall 001

The width of the pot rack is about 24″ which works perfectly over the bed…

The scroll work that once adorned above the shelf, now works well below!

master makeover & charlottesville trip fall 002

We had to drill new holes in order to hang the crown into studs~

The two inch shelf wall works as the perfect place to attach the material

that frames the bed!

master makeover & charlottesville trip fall 003

I cut black Velcro tape into two inch strips and added them to the inside of the “crown”,

three on each side of the wall.

This will allow me to take the material down for washing or switching to another material!

master makeover & charlottesville trip fall 006

I used a 90″ x 64″ tablecloth, cut it in half and finished the edges~ worked great!

master makeover & charlottesville trip fall 009

I left an 8″ opening in the front, to allow the scroll work to be seen!

master makeover & charlottesville trip fall 008

I played with the fabric to get it to swoop smoothly,

and attached it with nails!

master makeover & charlottesville trip fall 010

There you have it!

A pot rack turned bed crown.

My thoughts this morning began with how this transitioned from a Utilitarian pot rack,

to a symbolic bed crown…

It reminds me of how my life has changed recently.

Much of my life has been serving in one way or another…much like the pot rack!

This season is quite different, as I have more freedom to try new things and rest in my relationship with the Lord…

much like the bed crown! 🙂

You could say I’m crowned with His Royal Rest!

sconces in fr and master bed w silver 0233

Interestingly enough, the final touch to the make-over was the silver serving tray…

Although I’m in a season of rest with the Lord, serving others will always be a part of it!

*These verses so describe this transition in my life~

Matthew 11:28-30

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. 

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find REST for your souls.

For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

I believe you can be in the rest of the Lord at any stage in life- and I believe He’s calling all of us into His rest right now!

If you desire this rest, read these passages and ask Him to fill you with His peace and His rest!

~In His Love~  Heidi

Do you have a scripture that portrays His rest?

Do you have something symbolic around your home that represents resting in Him?

What can you create that will remind you and encourage you and  your family to come into His rest?

6 comments on “Bed Crown- easy diy!

  1. David
    October 22, 2013

    I love it!!

    • hvalardi
      October 22, 2013

      faithful reader, thank you! 🙂

  2. innercity51
    October 22, 2013

    Beautiful Heidi!

    • hvalardi
      October 22, 2013

      Thanks Carol~ I appreciate it! I want to order one of your books~ I’d like to highlight some of your quotes on my metamorphosis living page! 🙂 ~Heidi

  3. sewtam
    October 22, 2013

    So pretty Heidi! Thank you for sharing the secret to the transormation. XOXO

    • hvalardi
      October 22, 2013

      I know, I had that thought today! I give ALL my secrets away… But, you know, I wouldn’t change it for the world~

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

