met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Master Bedroom Make-over~

 ~We are finally completely finished with the Master Make-over~

Today I’m going to post some pictures with a few tips I learned along the way!

Image

We went from a sage to a greige~ The greige is a mix between gray and beige!

It lightened up the room and gave it a neutral modern feel!

Tip: Go with the best paint you can afford.

We went with Behr Premium Plus/ Ultra paint and primer in one.

Tip: Go with Eggshell when painting a bedroom. 

The Eggshell finish has a nice lustre and goes on beautifully!

Image

Tip: I painted most of our bedroom furniture in a Behr black satin paint and primer in one also!

Some might cringe at that but I wanted a guarantee that the furniture will last us another 26 years, and this paint is so durable!

Tip: Even though this is paint and primer in one, you still need to plan on 2-3 coats for a nice finish. Another tip would be to let the paint dry well between coats, and paint with nice long strokes of the paintbrush!

Image

I chose not to paint the armoire and kept it natural oak!

Tip: Mix and match bedroom furniture. Sometimes you can have too much that matches and the pieces lose their personality! (much like with people when they try to be alike…)  

I couldn’t believe how much I liked the oak when we put in the new floor…

Image

I fell in love with this particular stranded Bamboo hardwood flooring and so glad we decided to use it!

Tip: Go with your gut. I picked out this floor right away, but shopped around and did some pricing and ended up right back at the start and got the original choice!

Tip: When reading the directions for the installation of your click and lock floors, take them very literally. Read and reread and get it straight. This was a tough floor to install, but once we got the hang of it, things went much smoother! 

Image

We couldn’t make the room over without some new bedding~ I chose a tan and white duvet set from Target!

Tip: I suggest buying duvet covers with matching shams as opposed to comforters. If you change your decor often, it is a much more economical option!

Tip: I use to stuff my comforters in the duvet covers, as directed. I don’t do that anymore. I lay the duvet cover over the comforter for a smoother look. *Have you ever tried to stuff a comforter into a duvet cover? I think you need four hands…I should have taken pictures! 😉

Image

I decided to frame the bed with this “bed crown”!

I’ll be posting easy instructions on how to make this bed crown, so no tips Yet!

Wait until you find out what it’s made out of…!  🙂

Image

I hemmed and hawed over what to put over the bed. I wanted to make something original, but nothing wonderful came to me…so I went shopping. I found a very expensive mirror that might have worked, but it wasn’t in my budget…Then it came to me!

I will hang my silver platter.

Tip: Ask yourself what is it that you really like about something and see if you have it or something similar already! I loved the reflective quality of this expensive mirror that I found, so I used the silver platter that has the same effect!

Image

I’m saving this for last, because it was a little iffy…I came close to skipping the curtains, as I really love the wall of windows without any curtains. To be honest with you, they might not stay up!

Tip: Do not buy your drop cloths from Home Depot if you plan on making curtains or anything else nice.  The drop cloths I purchased were like a patchwork quilt…not good! I decided to give it another try, and purchased the next three at Lowe’s. They were so much nicer in quality!

Image

The benches have been with us for years. Some of you might remember years ago when we made cow benches…these were them! They’ve been painted black and the utters have been removed since then!  🙂

Tip: I’ve always wanted a bench at the end of my bed, but don’t have room for one with this particular floor plan. I decided to use narrow benches that give the same look without taking up much floor space!

I truly hope you’ve been inspired by these pictures of the room make-over, and I hope the Tips have helped you also!

I couldn’t be happier with this make-over. I don’t think I’d change a thing, except those window treatments…still not sure about them. Either way, it’ll work out.

Final Tip: Enjoy the process. We waited a while to dive into this project, so it gave me a while to think about what I really love. We worked together and felt a great sense of accomplishment when it was over~ all that said, I’m GLAD it’s over!  😉

Have a blessed weekend~

Heidi xoxo

“Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth, for your love is more delightful than wine. Pleasing is the fragrance of your perfumes; your name is like perfume poured out. No wonder the young women love you. Take me away with you. Let us hurry! Let the king bring me into his chambers.” Song of Solomon 1:2-4

12 comments on “Master Bedroom Make-over~

  1. Diane Aldred
    October 18, 2013

    Lovely , enjoying all your ideas even if I don’t comment, I save them to go back to!!!!
    Have a blessed weekend.
    Diane A.

    • hvalardi
      October 18, 2013

      Thanks so much Diane~ I heard you were a wonderful decorator! 🙂

  2. sewtam
    October 18, 2013

    Heidi, this is lovely, simply lovely. I so enjoy seeing all your beautiful ideas and most of all I love the scriptures you share. XOXO

    • hvalardi
      October 18, 2013

      Awe thanks Tamara~ I love doing it too…! 🙂

  3. Ariel
    October 18, 2013

    Absolutely love your bedroom makeover!!! And the tips that you give are GREAT…practical and useful!

  4. Maureen Mason
    October 18, 2013

    BEAUTIFUL

    • hvalardi
      October 18, 2013

      Thank you Maureen~ continue to keep me posted on your home construction! 😉

  5. Kim
    October 18, 2013

    It’s beautiful, Heidi. I love the oak armoire, too! So glad you didn’t paint that, and I agree about items that are too matchy. Y’all did a great job on the floors. Thanks for sharing your lovely new room. 🙂

  6. Mary You
    October 19, 2013

    Wow, Heidi, what a reveal…it’s beautiful! I’m not surprised, though, you’re makeovers are so tastefully done. Love it!

  7. Rebecca
    October 20, 2013

    How do you handle the hardware when painting furniture? Do you paint over the handles/knobs or take them off before painting? I’m thinking our furniture could use a bit of a makeover.

  8. Rebecca
    October 20, 2013

    Why is there a picture of a crab under my name? Haha

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

