met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Frame time for Fun!

Frame out some time for fun to keep the balance…

This morning I had to stop listening to the news of what’s going on in our country. I knew that enough was enough and I needed to move on to other things!  (for today!)

I want you to think about balancing your life, and consider how you can incorporate creativity and fun into your day! For some it might be a craft, for some it might be creating a new recipe or planting a garden!

This is an example of a fun and creative project where I pulled together some things that I had and thought of how I could make something out of them!

When you look at this project, think about what you might have hanging around, just waiting to become beautiful! 🙂

Image

My supply list:

1. (2) frames-  (I had previously painted black and was just waiting for an idea of how to         use them. They had no glass or backs to them!)

2. cardboard- (I cut a piece to fit the back of the frame)

3. chevron burlap- (I found a remnant piece at Hobby Lobby)

4. (2) small black frames-

5. pictures of my family

Image

I wrapped the cardboard with the burlap.

I framed the pictures and hot glued them to the center of the burlap.

That’s it!

Here’s another project:

Image

How cool is this?

I bought the frame from Target. I took out the ugly picture and decided to make this a dry erase board, so I did. Then it sat there and I decided I needed to do something more…

Image

…so I added the silver pieces!

I did the same process as above, but instead of gluing the picture frames on the burlap, I glued the silver onto the glass. Yes, I used hot glue, and yes it worked just fine!  🙂

~After spending a long time polishing the silver, I decided I wanted to incorporate them in a way that I could always change if I decided! I wasn’t ready to drill holes in them or bend them, because that would be too permanent!  :/

Image

I like the juxtaposition of the different style frames and textures, as they make things interesting.

The contrast of the rough burlap with the shiny silver, brings a nice balance!

Image

Our lives are much like these projects, some things in our lives are hard and rough, and other things are smooth and easy.

Image

 In my opinion, the only way to find true balance is to have God in the center of our lives and all of our activities, but it also helps to keep priorities in order.

Psalm 16:11  “In His presence is fullness of Joy.”

If you have a heavy heart over life’s circumstances, make it a priority today to incorporate  Creative Projects into your life~

Only then can we find true balance and happiness!

Share with a comment on how you balance your life~

heidi

Psalm 16:11  “In His presence is fullness of Joy.”

5 comments on “Frame time for Fun!

  1. Langdon Montgomery
    October 10, 2013

    Heidi, I really like your insights about balanced life and rough & smooth. You teach well with word pictures and contrasts which are impactful and easy to remember.

  2. Kim
    October 10, 2013

    Neat project, Heidi! And, a great post, as well. Yes, the news these days is depressing and can make me downright mad. Yes, balance – with the TV off! 🙂 Don’t you love hot glue and how you can remove the glue later when you want to change things again. The Chevron burlap is great with those frames, too. Keep the news off and create – it’s worth the results. As always, I love the spiritual aspects you bring out in each post. 🙂
    His blessings,
    Kim

    • hvalardi
      October 11, 2013

      Thanks Kim~ I love your comment, and agree, we need to limit what we watch and for how long…

      I love doing projects With the Lord!

      He’s always faithful to show the spiritual analogy…! 😀

      heidi xoxo ps…your posts aren’t coming right to my inbox anymore…not sure why. 😦

      • Kim
        October 11, 2013

        WordPress told me my email followers from WordPress blogs may have to sign up again after my move to .com, so I’d love for you to hop over and do that. 🙂 Thanks!

  3. David
    October 11, 2013

    What beautiful frames and wonderful words of inspiration!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

