met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Cedar framed FALL~

To me cedar speaks of Fall~ This is cedar project #2 for me this season!

There will be at least one more project using cedar, coming soon…

Using cedar all started when I found a box of cedar planks that were meant for a cedar closet, but never made it that far!  😉

Here’s my cedar framed FALL:

master makeover befores, fall word art 022

I knew I wanted to make another wall hanging to go over the back door, and what better way to use my cedar, right?

I had seen framed letters around, but nothing done like this so I started to get excited about it~

I had the cedar, obviously. I was given the black frames, “you can find something creative to make out of them!”,

was what I received along with the frames! 🙂 Finally, all that I needed was the fun Fall scrapbook paper and letter stencils,

and I just happened to have them also!

fall art projects 015

After playing around with the papers, this is what I came up with…

fall art projects 017

It looks almost 3-D to me~ like the hay

was carved out to peek at the pine cones behind!

Fall pics and projects 060

I attached hangers to the back and up it went~ It’s definitely got a cabin look to it; a nice touch of Fall!

Remembering cedar mentioned in the bible, I looked up verses to find tons that talk about the mighty cedar of Lebanon~

Hosea 14:5-6

“I will be like the dew to Israel; He will blossom like the lily, And he will take root like the cedars of Lebanon. His shoots will sprout, And his beauty will be like the olive tree And his fragrance like the cedars of Lebanon.” 

There’s So much imagery of strength and beauty, two things that I would like to describe me~ the strength of the roots of the cedar of Lebanon. Our roots take strength as we mature in the Lord, just like with the cedar!

I noticed something in this verse that I’d never seen before. There is literal truth here: The olive tree does produce beauty, inside and out. It’s applied externally for youthful skin and taken internally for health!

The cedars fragrance is also literally used for many things!

It’s used as an aromatic oil as a sedative to treat stress and anxiety in people. It’s used in perfumes because of its aroma. It’s used as a preserve for spices. It’s used as an antibacterial. It’s used for treating respiratory infections. It helps with dandruff and gray hair and also to help with skin infections and acne!

Isn’t it amazing how we can look to the bible to find truths that are literally right under our noses, no pun intended!  🙂

I will never look at cedar the same way again…

Something to beautify my home has once again brought beauty to my heart! ❤

My first cedar project was:

Variety is the spice of life, check it out!

My second cedar project:

master makeover befores, fall word art 022

Stay tuned for cedar project #3~

Share this post, inspire others,

or leave a comment~ I love hearing from you!

Heidi  xo

5 comments on “Cedar framed FALL~

  1. David
    September 30, 2013

    I love Cedar wood. It smells so wonderful. Love your project!

  2. Langdon Montgomery
    September 30, 2013

    You are well rooted in Him. Excellent insights and application.

    • hvalardi
      September 30, 2013

      Thanks Lang~ You are so kind! 🙂

  3. Dorothea
    September 30, 2013

    Shalom, I absolutely love it! I can smell the fragrance of cedar, one of my favorite ones by the way, along with sandalwood…
    Your creativity is inspiring!

  4. hvalardi
    September 30, 2013

    Thanks so much~ we women sure do love things that smell good, don’t we! 🙂

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

