met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

modern Autumn Arrangement

I decided a modern arrangement is what was needed for our family room coffee table this year. I ditched the idea of a Fall vignette that usually adorns the table, for something unique!

I’m pleased with how it turned out…

Image

The first thing I did was gather my supplies:

1. Container with a modern shape- tall and square works well.

2. Styrofoam blocks- The container is high, so you may need to stack and glue the foam.

3. Spanish moss- I used both natural and green colored Spanish moss, and also nice green garden moss, but you can use any of the above.

4. An assortment of spherical balls- I bought grapevine, twine, and raffia, but you could make your own by covering golf balls & tennis balls! (that’s what I’ll do next time!)  😉

5. Three clumps of Fall flowers- you can use more than three, but keep the number of flowers an odd number.

6. Hot glue, and wire cutters (for the flower stems).

Image

Next I started to build the arrangement, making a point to build a strong foundation!

The styrofoam blocks should be glued to the base of the planter container, and stacked and glued to each other. This will build the foundation up to the top of the container!

Image

Then I added the three varieties of moss to add character to the base of the arrangement.

Next I arranged the spherical balls, and hot glued them. This can be done to your liking!

Image

The final step is to add the flowers!

Image

The thought that came to me while arranging this, was the fact that it needed such a large foundation of foam. Without it, the arrangement wouldn’t be sturdy and everything would fall in…

Of course, I thought of the spiritual analogy that went with this!

And the scripture that came to mind~

Matthew 7:24-27

 “Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock. Though the rain comes in torrents and the flood waters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse because it is built on bedrock. But anyone who hears my teaching and doesn’t obey it is foolish, like a person who builds a house on sand. When the rains and floods come and the winds beat against that house, it will collapse with a mighty crash.”

This arrangement is sturdy, because the foundation is sturdy~ The foundation of my life is sturdy when I listen and obey the ways of the Lord. He says that obeying and following His teachings is like building our home on solid rock. When the adversities of life hit, and they will, we’ll be ready to deal with them!

I love this reminder, and I love this arrangement!

Image

I’ll remember His Word whenever I admire it!

Image

Image

The coffee table never looks this clean and uncluttered. I did this just for you!

I couldn’t move Miles or his “baby”, but they add the cute factor, don’t they?

Image

I pray you’re encouraged to build your home on the solid rock of Jesus, And inspired to work on an arrangement of your own!

Please share any insights that were sparked while reading this today~ I’d love to hear from you~  Heidi  😀

5 comments on “modern Autumn Arrangement

  1. Langdon Montgomery
    September 26, 2013

    And God said, “It is good.”

  2. David
    September 26, 2013

    In these trying times we live in, you had better have a firm foundation! On Christ the solid rock I stand all other ground is sifting sand!

  3. Maureen Mason
    September 27, 2013

    Great post!!!! Without a foundation nothing stands 🙂

    • hvalardi
      September 27, 2013

      And on the foundation, the house is built…and in your case the framing of the house is cedar (literally)! What a wonderful strong frame!! 🙂

  4. sewtam
    September 27, 2013

    Heidi, this is so pretty and such a gently way to transition into autumn. The season come and the seasons go, but the One remains a solid rock. XOXO

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

