met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Autumn Joy~ silver Fall

As you can see, I love the versatility of chalk boards~

I especially love the look on silver plated pieces, like this one made especially for my dining room. I wanted to bring in a punch of “pumpkin” orange and this did it!

Image

The process of making this silver plated chalk board plate was simple!

1. The first step is to find a silver plated plate, tray or serving platter that you like. I found mine at Goodwill for about $5.00. Keep your eyes open for them at yard sales also. They range in price from about $5.00-$15.00 depending on the size and condition!

Image

2. The next step is to polish the silver. I used Hagerty spray polish, because this piece was in good condition. You spray it on and leave it for a couple of minutes and then use a soft cloth to wipe it off. It’a amazing how the piece shines with just a bit of elbow grease!

Image

3. The third step is to choose a paint. I found that any flat paint works as well as the chalk paint on a project this small. You will need to paint three coats, letting them dry well in between.

Image

I absolutely love these platters. They’re so easy and makes such a big impact!

They can be hung on the wall as well as used in a plate stand.

Image

I found that hot gluing a hanger to the back is the easiest solution to hanging these. I learned the hard way with this one. Better late than never, right…and I get to share what I learned with you, so it’s all worth it!  😉

Image

I added a flower clip to give it a different look, but I’m not sure if I’ll keep it or go back to the simple look…

I like it in the plate stand also. It makes it easy to change out the message when the time comes! This might be a fun color to use again in the Spring or for a fun birthday party!

The Autumn Season always brings such Joy to our family~

It’s a Joy steeped in family tradition.

One of the things we did for years while the children were growing up was to take special Fall pictures and have them framed. It was always fun finding the right location for the photo shoot!

Here’s a couple of those pictures that bring such Joy to my heart…

ImageImage

Weren’t they cute…I can’t stand it!

Here’s a couple more…

ImageImage

I’m so glad we took the time to do this. I remember the kids looking forward to these annual photo shoots.

Although they are young adults now, they still ask for the traditions of the past. There is a great Joy and comfort that comes along with these memories.

May you find great Joy in your families and those around you~ You never know what memories you are making that will bring Joy for years to come!

With loving memories…

Heidi xoxo

5 comments on “Autumn Joy~ silver Fall

  1. Mary You
    September 21, 2013

    So creative, nice touch for Fall. I have a platter just like that…it’s still packed away somewhere! Love your traditional fall pictures and those sweet little faces!

  2. hvalardi
    September 21, 2013

    Thanks so much Marylou~ I bet the weather is feeling very Fall-ish in your neck of the woods right now! xoxo

  3. Dorothea
    September 21, 2013

    So beautiful,brings back many treasured memories

    • hvalardi
      September 22, 2013

      Thank you! I love those treasured memories and I look forward to making more in the future…God is so good!!!

  4. Ariel
    September 23, 2013

    Fall is my favorite time of year, and this probably has something to do with all the special traditions and memories we’ve made throughout the years.

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on September 21, 2013 by in create, diy, easy design, fall decor, message board, paint, seasonal changes and tagged , , , , , .
