met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Flourish and Abide: My Story

The idea of moving was hard. For the first time in my life I did not embrace the idea of moving and starting over. God had other plans for us. This was definitely one of those times I had to trust Him, knowing that He is a good God and knows what’s best for us!

Right before the move, He clearly gave me a cluster of scriptures that I knew were for us! I was so excited, as I saw them as a promise as to what was to come.

One section of the promise:

“The righteous man will flourish like the palm tree, He will grow like a cedar in Lebanon. Planted in the house of the Lord, they will flourish in the courts of our God.”ps.92:12-13

What I didn’t realize at that time was that this promise would come through a process. It’s like I’ve had to fight for the fulfillment of the promise. But what I’ve realized is that during the fight I’ve grown stronger in Him! I know that I may go through it again and again, but I know that each time, I will grow closer to God. I think this is some of what the Word of God means by going from glory to glory!

I have fallen in love with the word flourish, absolutely fallen in love! I wanted to make something to remember His promise for us, and this is what I came up with…

Image

During the unpacking I found two boards that David made into candle holders for two long block candles that I had purchased. The candles are long gone, but I did keep the wood bases for a future project! 🙂

I decided to paint them with black chalkboard paint, add a hanger on the backs and write my promise scripture on one and a favorite scripture on the other!

Image

They’ve been up for at least a year and I haven’t wanted to change the scriptures. I am still standing on these promises…they may never change!

Side note:  After I’d written about “flourishing” on metamorphosis living facebook page this morning, I walked into my morning room and looked up to see these hangings…I couldn’t believe it, I’d written about the two words that I had declared a year ago by making these hangings…I am so in awe of God!

The story continues…After writing this morning, the phone rang. I was talking with someone very special about their unfortunate job loss. As this person shared the seriousness of it, I just happened to look at the time and it was 9:19. I knew it was a message from God, and was able to read to her Psalm 91:9 and assure her that God was in control!

“For you have made the Lord, my refuge, Even the Most High, your dwelling place.

Then she said she’d been seeing 9:11 on the clock so much lately, and then she received Psalm 91:1 as another promise from God!

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.”

Most certainly the Lord wanted to get this point across today. If we abide in Him, we will flourish!

How has God taught you to flourish, what does the word flourish mean to you?

This week, may we flourish on…!   Heidi  🙂

4 comments on “Flourish and Abide: My Story

  1. Ariel
    September 16, 2013

    Another wonderful blog, MM!! They’re always so encouraging. You know what else comes to mind after reading this…”Bloom where you’re planted”. We may be going through a difficult time in life, but we always have to remember to bloom [find joy and make life beautiful, regardless of our situation] where we’re planted [wherever we are]. xox

  2. David
    September 17, 2013

    It’s amazing how wonderful God is and how he works in our lives!

    • hvalardi
      September 17, 2013

      Thanks david~ you are such an encouragement…thanks for being You! 😉

  3. Josh
    September 23, 2013

    This is such a great article, I love the way you use the bold fonts with scripture, it really pops out. I loved Ps 92:12-13. He is So good, and He knows exactly what He’s doing. Great job Heidi!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

