met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Variety is the spice of life | Fall diy

Variety is the spice of life~

These words were once penned by English poet William Cowper.

We’ve taken this cliche’ to mean that life is more interesting when you experience many different things!

It can also apply to decorating when using diverse materials while staging a room, arranging a vignette or creating a piece of art. 

I felt that spicy contradiction while creating these two coordinating Fall pieces.

Image

I knew I wanted to work with the cedar planks we had sitting in our garage, but I also knew that I didn’t want anything too dark or heavy, so this is what I came up with!

Image

The two coordinating pieces sit on the ledge on either side of the fireplace!

The cedar planks give them the rustic Fall feel and the scroll frames give them a light and whimsical feel. One rough, one shiny, one dark and one light…diverse and yet compatible!

Here are easy DIY steps if you’d like to try something like this~

1. Cut boards to desired length. My cedar boards were originally 42″ long, so I cut them into 3-14″ boards. (My husband helped me with the circular saw. I believe Lowe’s will do the cuts for a small fee. It’s worth looking into!)

Image

2. The cedar planks click together, but I needed to attach them more, so I took two paint stirrers and hot glued them to the back of the boards.

Image

3. The next thing I did was spray paint the frame with Krylon white satin paint.

Image

4. I collected all of the materials~

I used foam board and a razor knife to cut backs for the frames.

Image

5. After deciding on the photos to be used, I cut them to the size of the foam board backs and used spray adhesive to attach them.

Image

6. I used hot glue in the corners of the prints to attach them to the frame, and then used hot glue again to attach the frames to the cedar boards. (The photos are light weight, so a blob of hot glue in each corner was all that was needed!)

 Image

I wanted the frames to have a three dimensional look, so the large blob of glue gave it the lift that I wanted. (You can’t see it in this picture, but the white frame is set out about 1/3″!)

Image

You might like to use a different type of wood and frame for your project, but the idea of mixing dissimilar materials is what makes this project exciting!

Working on this has reminded me that Variety does Spice up life~ whether it’s in the materials we use for our projects or the way in which we decorate our homes, opposites often attract!

The same is true in life~

Are there people in your neighborhood or church that you don’t know well, but that are so different from you? The normal inclination is to unite with those similar to us, but I am challenging myself today to be more open to others that seems so different!

I challenge you to do the same…Who knows, you might just find a dissimilar, yet perfectly compatible connection~ Oh, what God can do with that!

Image

1 Corinthians 1:10

I appeal to you, brothers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and the same judgment.

To variety and spicy lives!

Loving one another, in Jesus~ Heidi

2 comments on “Variety is the spice of life | Fall diy

  1. David
    August 29, 2013

    I love it!! Can’t wait to stop by your house and see it in person!

  2. Ariel
    August 29, 2013

    Love your creations! Such an oddly wonderful combination 🙂 And I also loved what you said at the end about reaching out to people who may seem a bit different than us. It’s good to break out of our comfortable box from time to time!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

