met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Apothecary cabinet- fit for Fall

We found this Apothecary/Spice cabinet by the Chesapeake Bay over the 4th of July. It took me a while to figure out what type of cabinet it was and then I had to look at it for a while before deciding how it was to be transformed!

Check out the original transformation   -apothecary/spice cabinet reveal-

And now with a few changes, it’s fit for Fall…

Image

The recent changes…

1. The obvious change is the chicken wire attached to the doors. I’d write a post on all that I went through to get this chicken wire, but it would end up being a comedy as it was a comedy of errors~ All that said, I love my local hardware store and will continue to shop there! I really like the way the chicken wire finishes the doors. What do you think?

2. The less obvious change is the bead board wall paper added to the lower interior!

3. The most exciting change are the vintage/antique pieces that we added. Most were attained during our trip to New England.

Image

These bottles are dated from the 1800’s. I need to do a bit more research to find out the value of some of these bottles…

Image

Here we have a Sylpho-Nathol clear bottle from Boston, dated 1910.  I found out that it was used as a disinfectant.

The small purple bottle says “straubhullers elixir Tree of Life since 1880″…hmm, an elixir!

Image

I adore the 1852 brand wild flower honey bottle. I’m not sure how old it is or much about it but I love it!

The vintage spectacles are awesome~ I found that they are Prince-Nez eyeglasses, and they haven’t been manufactured since the 1920’s, so I imagine the are quite old!

Image

The colors of the bottles are perfect for Fall decorating.

My favorite bottle is the smallest bottle. It’s the second in from the left~ It’s only about an inch and a half tall. It says “Alancasters Indian Vegetable Jaondice Bitters”!

Image

A tiny apothecary cabinet called for tiny bottles~ I was so excited to find them!

Image

The magnifying glass is a nice touch to the look of this display. I love the original chevron pattern to the handle.  Again, quite a find!

Image

The lower cabinet is simply graced with three very old, very special books~

Image

Image

Thanks for reading and showing interest in what I’m interested in. If you made it this far in the post, I’m believing you might also be interested in things with history!

Speaking of things with history, if you’re a friend of mine, either an old friend or a new friend in blog land, we have history!

I was pondering today just how precious true friendships are to me. The history of a friendship gives it the character, and the longevity in a friendship is proof of personal character!  (because we’re human and all fall short of being perfect friends!)

By saying this I’m giving you a peak into my personal thoughts~ I value my friendships so much and I pray that I am as much an encouragement as I hope to be...

Image

As I think about the history of these precious finds of mine, I remember the true treasures are those that come with skin on…that’s You!

Thanks for being my friend~

I appreciate you!

Heidi

7 comments on “Apothecary cabinet- fit for Fall

  1. sewtam
    August 27, 2013

    This is so pretty Heidi! Thank you for sharing your adventures and for reminding me of the real treasures in life. XOXOX

    • hvalardi
      August 27, 2013

      I look forward to spending time with you again soon~ one of my new treasured friendships! 🙂

  2. Joy
    August 27, 2013

    I love the post, the chicken wire, and most of all, YOU! I treasure our friendship! Love you!

    • hvalardi
      August 27, 2013

      Thank you my dear friend~ You’re the treasure!

  3. Ariel
    August 27, 2013

    the local hardware shop is called “pleasant hardware”…quite ironic because your experience there was anything BUT pleasant! haha. but I guess it was worth the hassle because the chicken wire looks GREAT!! 🙂 oh, and I’m so glad you’re my friend. hehe.

    • hvalardi
      August 27, 2013

      Oh, I’m so glad you’re MY friend…and doubly glad you’re my daughter! Pleasant Hardware, we love you, even though you royally messed up my chicken wire order…!

  4. David
    August 28, 2013

    Hey Friend – 27 years and still going, and still my best friend!! (2/7/1986)

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2013 by in antique, bottles, decor, fall decor, seasonal decorating, vintage and tagged , , , .
