met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

-apothecary/spice cabinet reveal-

While at the Chesapeake Bay over the fourth of July, my husband and I ventured out to a local estate sale. It was a gift to me, from him, as it took him away from the Bay and our close friends. But, I have to say, it was well worth it!

Along with finding a pair of brandy-new Frye boots for me…(Yippee,) we fell upon this unique petite hutch. We negotiated and walked away with it for only $5.00!

Image

I had to do some searches online to figure out it’s purpose, but after a bit I came to realize it was most likely an apothecary or spice cabinet~ As I understand it, the two were one in the same. When life was simpler, spices were also used for medicinal purposes…I love that!

Back to Basics~  

While brainstorming for transformation ideas, my initial thoughts were to really jazz it up with shiny knobs and mirror doors…Initially, it was going in the glitz and glam direction…

Then, something happened and I just couldn’t do it! (Maybe it had something to do with the fact that I knew that painting it alone would devalue the piece by well over $100.00 and I did it anyways!) Once I found it’s new home in our family room, I decided I wanted to maintain some of its integrity by keeping it simple.

Image

I loved the piece even more after being painted this warm gray. I tossed around the idea of knobs and just couldn’t do it! The mirrors were definitely OUT!

Image

I did decide that white bead board would work well for the back, and I really love the look. (I didn’t put backing behind the drawers, so they can be pushed out by the backs.) The one thing that I’m still not sure of is whether to use 1″ chicken wire in the door openings. What do you think, should I go ahead and put the chicken wire on the doors, or leave them simple?

Image

While preparing this piece of furniture and thinking about this post, I kept going back to the idea of going back to basics and the simple things in life. I reflect on God’s provision of spices for healing and walking in good health!

3 John 1:3-4

2 Beloved, I pray that in all respects you may prosper and be in good health, just as your soul prospers. 3 For I was very glad when brethren came and testified to your truth, that is, how you are walking in truth. 4 I have no greater joy than this, to hear of my children walking in the truth.

My prayer for everyone who reads this post is that as we search out natural ways to walk in greater physical health, we’ll be equally encouraged to find creative ways to grow in our spiritual health!

As it says in  3 John 1:3-4, both our physical health and our spiritual health are important to the Lord…May His will be done in our lives!

It looks so pretty lit up at night…

Image

This little piece of furniture makes me so happy every time I look at it. I’m so glad my husband chose to sacrifice his Bay-time to join me on my treasure hunt!

I can’t wait for the weather to get cold, so I can wear my brand new Frye boots…

…and I’m so looking forward to “Autumn-izing” my apothecary cabinet…!  😉

Until we meet again,

May the Lord continue to prosper you in every way…

Heidi xo

 

7 comments on “-apothecary/spice cabinet reveal-

  1. David
    August 12, 2013

    Well worth the time away from the Bay when I can make someone I LOVE happy!!!

  2. innercity51
    August 12, 2013

    Aww, sweet, David! I would put chicken wire in it, to give it some new interest and texture. But you don’t have to do what I like:)

    • hvalardi
      August 12, 2013

      Ha, I just messaged you, Carol! 🙂

      Long story with the chicken wire…I’ve special ordered what I wanted from our local Pleasant Hardware store- the 1″, and the 2″ came in…so I’ve ordered the 1″ again…and still waiting. My thought was that maybe it wasn’t meant to be, so I thought I’d ask for others opinions…

  3. Mary You
    August 12, 2013

    Hi Heidi! Love the color change and it looks great in your family room! Chicken wire will certainly give it texture and maybe a country flair – can’t wait to see it done!

    • hvalardi
      August 12, 2013

      Thank you Marylou~ I think I might have to go for the chicken wire…now to get the right size! 🙂

  4. Ariel
    August 12, 2013

    such a great post! i can definitely relate to the physical/spiritual aspect you talked about! xox

    • hvalardi
      August 12, 2013

      ❤ you know how I love the spirit, soul and body connection! ❤

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

