met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Drum Shade~ Do It Yourself

We were blessed to see that this house had nice lights and fixtures when we found it a year and a half ago! I knew we might like to do more modernizing in the future when we bought it, and the future is now!

I’ve been slowly replacing a few lamp shades around the house with drum shades and I really like the look!

So I wanted to attempt a ceiling mounted light, and thought my foyer could use a design boost!

Our original ceiling mount fixture…

Image

This light fixture has worked well with our colors and looked fine, so when I shared with my husband my plans, he just shook his head!  I convinced him to just trust me…

I picked up a simple drum shade from Target and brought it home, knowing that I really had to just get out my ladder and start playing with the shade and the original ceiling mount to see what I could do…

…and this is what I ended up with!

Do you like it?

Image

It ended up being a very easy diy project, so I thought I’d share these simple steps. This might be something you’d like to try yourself~

Drum roll, please………Ha, get it!  🙂

1. Decide on a drum shade, choosing color and size that will work…you might have to measure your ceiling mount and bring home a couple of shades to see what size and shade works best!

2.Take off original light fixture, and see what you have there to work with…Our ceiling mount has three rod iron pieces that hang down, which works perfectly with the drum shade I picked out.

3. Decide how you can hang the drum shade. My drum shade had three metal connectors that fit perfectly with the three rod iron pieces hanging down. I couldn’t have been more excited…

3. I cut the metal inside the drum shade to about 1″, as that’s all that I needed to wrap the craft wire around to connect the shade to the rod iron ceiling mount.

Image

4. I decided to connect the shade with wire at those three places!

Image

*I wanted to cut the rest of the drum shade insert out as it wasn’t needed and would look better when looking up into the light!

Image

…and that was it…. voila’!

Image

I know these diy directions will only be helpful if you have a ceiling light mount like ours, but I encourage you to experiment with what you have…

I had no idea what I was going to do, so I bought the shade and started experimenting. I was fortunate with what I had to work with and for me it was extremely easy!

These drum shades are so popular for home decor right now, but they are so expensive! I found the shade on clearance at Target for $12.00 and had it done in 15 minutes~

Image

There are seasons for our home decor just as there are seasons in our lives. Sometimes we need to make small changes in our homes that will modernize the look, and that is also true in our lives…

Ecclesiastes 3:1-22

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

The next time you feel antsy and you’re not sure what’s wrong with you, think about what small change you can make that will “modernize” your life!

Sometimes the small change is taking a class and learning to do something you’ve always wanted to do like learning a new language or taking cooking classes.

It might be something very simple and that’s just as wonderful~ some small changes bring big results…

I am encouraged myself, and am asking myself what little change can I make in my life to bring my life into this new season of change~

Let the small changes begin…

Heidi xoxo

4 comments on “Drum Shade~ Do It Yourself

  1. Ariel
    August 6, 2013

    easy peasy lovely modern change!

    cheesy ariel, over and out! 😛

  2. Langdon Montgomery
    August 6, 2013

    As a drummer, I especially like this 🙂

  3. hvalardi
    August 7, 2013

    Thank you Ariel and Lang~ you both make me smile!!! 🙂

  4. David
    August 7, 2013

    Looks wonderful! Your writing reminds me of the Small Change for Big Change campaign that Abundant Hope Ministry was doing in Fort Mill, SC.

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

