met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Layers of Love~ mixed media art & loving one another

Today I want to share my first mixed media art piece~

I’ve done mixed media before on many occasions, but this time I was creating it with this in mind!  😉

mixed media:

1. A technique involving the use of two or more artistic media, such as ink and pastel or painting and collage, that are combined in a  single composition.

 
Here’s an example:
Image

Circle of Love

I call this piece “Circle of Love” because out of many recent pieces and projects, I think this is my favorite, but it didn’t come easy.

I found the gold frame at a church rummage sale. It had interesting embroidery work done in avocado green, gold and rust flowers…so it’s obvious, I bought it for the frame! It sat for weeks before I knew what I wanted to do with it.

Image

Layers of Love

That’s when the layering of love began and my awareness of wanting to make this a beautiful mixed media piece…

1. I began by taking out the “lovely” embroidery work.

2. I used a chalky white paint and dry brushed the gold frame, for the contrast.

3. I used the circular back to trace the first layer. I chose brown Kraft paper because I like color and the casual look in contrast to the gold frame.

4.I used a plate to trace the next layer. I chose this teal scrapbook paper because I love the color and the formality of the damask design.

5.I added the gold push pins to the edge of the teal paper for another layer.

6. I reverse painted the glass in a gold metallic paint. I kept it rough for the texture it added. I hand painted this design for its classic look.

7.The final touch was to glue a shell to the front of the glass.

I wanted to mix casual with elegant, rough with smooth, and shiny with matte to give the piece interest, and I believe it worked!

Image

The layering process began with stretching my imagination, and opening my mind up for something new and different. It took me some time to begin the layering and “flowing” in creativity with this project, and maybe that’s why I love and appreciate it so much~

When I thought about the process of layering, it makes me think of the many ways we layer:

1. We layer in art pieces like the one above…

2. We layer in our home decor. We may start with a vision, but it’s a process of adding and subtracting until we find what works, and…

3. We layer our outfits. We find what’s most effective in highlighting our positives and disguising what we consider the negatives!  😉

The other thing that came to me while working on this piece was Layering Love!…

I was layering love while delightfully working on this piece, but we layer love every time we show the Love of God to those around us…

~to our husband or wife

~to our children or grand children

~to our neighbors and friends…

~and even to those who are hard to love!

While thinking about how to layer love to others, I thought of the book “The five love languages” by Gary Chapman. He gives a general guideline to the different love languages in which we each respond.

1. Words of Affirmation

2. Physical Touch

3. Quality Time

4. Acts of Service

5. Gifts

Just like with the art piece, it’s not always natural and easy to layer love in the way that each person responds, as many have a combination of gifts that make them feel most loved!

Today, I want to encourage you to go through the five love languages and determine how you can most effectively show the Love of God to those around you.

Some of you have read the book(s) and are already in this process and others might be hearing this for the first time…either way, it’s an encouragement to continue the process of touching hearts and showing love in a way that is interpreted as such to each individual we are loving!

Every time I look at this piece, I will be reminded to layer love…

…to love in many different ways, to ensure I’m speaking their love language!

Image

john 13:34

“a new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another.”

Image

john 13:35

“By this all men will know that you are MY disciples, if you have love for one another.”

May you enjoy exploring mixed media and loving one another~  Layering Love!

Always,

Heidi

*If I’ve encouraged you, please let me know by sharing this post or leaving me a comment. Thanks so much…I appreciate your visit.

3 comments on “Layers of Love~ mixed media art & loving one another

  1. David
    July 9, 2013

    Wow Heidi, that is beautiful!

    • hvalardi
      July 9, 2013

      Thanks so much David…I appreciate it! 😉

    • Mom
      July 25, 2013

      Revisited your “Layers of Love”. I love it ~ it’s beautiful!
      Mom

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

