met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Beautiful Bath on a budget~

~Shop your own closets~

Essentially, this was a makeover using pieces I had tucked away…

….Items put on a shelf for such a time as this!

I call this post “Beautiful Bath on a budget” but it should be “Beautiful Bath on no budget” because I shopped my own closets…

~Use what you love, and love what you use~

When I’m out and about, whether it’s retail shopping or shopping yard sales, I’m always on the look out for pieces I love. If the price is right, I’ll pick it up on speculation, knowing that if I love it it’ll eventually find a proper place in my home.

…a peak of the after…

bath makeover final pics 027

~Time to take Inventory~

Take inventory of what you have in your home:

1. what things do you love…

2. what things brings you joy…

3. what things can you do without…

A  simple walk through with this in mind will reveal a few things…It did for me!

I realized that my main floor bathroom was not something I loved…

I realized it did not bring me joy…

I couldn’t do without it, so I knew it was time for a face lift!   😉

Here, you’ll see why…the before!

down bath makeover and white end table 002

…and,

down bath makeover and white end table 003

*the walls were obviously faux painted and not awful, but after moving here and living with them for a year, I’m just not in love!

Here is the after…!

down bath makeover and white end table 007

List of changes:

1. The most obvious change was in the paint color. I painted with the same paint I used in our Building Character makeover.

2. I rearranged a few things on the shelf and added a shell or two.

bath makeover final pics 027

3. I painted a metal sign over in a gray chalk board paint. This works as a magnetic board and a chalk board…allowing the freedom to change things out often!

4.I painted a once pricey Hen Feather plaque white, to give it a new lease on life!

bath makeover final pics 016

5. I pulled the finger tip towels together with this easy diy…hot gluing this silver shell to rope!

bath makeover final pics 017

6. I dry brush painted the wicker storage basket with a gray paint, lightly sanding the leather straps.

…before,

bath makeover final pics 004

…and after,

bath makeover final pics 006

7. Finally, the last thing I did was make this piece of art using a frame I picked up at a yard sale and a shell my son gave me!

bath makeover final pics 012

This is the last and final touch and I absolutely love it!

*the mirror was found at a recent yard sale adventure, for $10! I left it alone and so glad I did, because it goes well with the shell art.

We need to occasionally take an inventory of our own lives

1.What do we have stored up within ourselves worthy to be put to use?

2.What “treasures” would someone find “tucked away” on the shelves of our lives?

 Philippians 1:10  

“For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return.”

God is calling us to look for the excellent rather than just the acceptable…

As we take inventory, are we:

1. Loving what we do, and doing what we love…

2. Full of Joy, and all the fruits of the spirit…

       ….Galatians 5:22 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, long-suffering, gentleness, goodness, faithfulness, Meekness,  and self control”…

3.Prioritizing areas of your life:  Can you do without anything you are currently doing?

Taking inventory can only help. We might find areas of our lives that possibly need a minor face lift, and that’s alright.

Make a list and check it twice…maybe even share with a good friend or spouse to get an objective opinion. Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us, because it’s been there for so long…!

Have Fun~

You might want to get two lists started.

1. Household Inventory~

2. Personal Quality of Life Inventory~

Praying He’ll guide and direct you to fulfillment, in your home and your heart!

God’s best for you!

Heidi  xoxo

I

8 comments on “Beautiful Bath on a budget~

  1. David
    June 27, 2013

    More changes to your home! Everyday I bet your husband comes home and thinks he is in the wrong house!

  2. Linda
    June 27, 2013

    Heidi, this is one of those posts that I need to take apart and dissect because I don’t want to miss anything that God might show me. On the inside if my heart and the inside of my home. I will post as I hear things!!! So friend, do YOU see anything for me??? 🙂

  3. hvalardi
    June 27, 2013

    That’s awesome Linda~ I look forward to seeing what you come up with…I think if you start with the home, you’ll begin to see in the other area! I will stay tuned…

  4. Ariel
    June 28, 2013

    what a wonderful blog! the bathroom “facelift” came out great, and i loved the idea of doing a personal inventory of our lives! time to get rid of the junk 🙂 xox

  5. Steve
    June 28, 2013

    I didn’t get any “artsy” chromosomes from my parents, so I truly enjoy how you see added richness that I see as a utilitarian/functional wicker hamper or mirror frame.

    But even moreso, how you tie this outer beauty to our inner beauty – enhanced by the love of God. If you truly take a real minute and think about it, that love of God affects your outlook on life and enhances your existence.

    • hvalardi
      June 28, 2013

      You got it Steve!
      We begin a positive cycle when we acknowledge the Beauty of the Lord, when we give Him credit and thank Him for His beauty! It seems to open our eyes to see more and more of His goodness! My hope is that this blog will create this positive cycle for everyone who reads it~ it’s contagious! 🙂

  6. Geri
    June 28, 2013

    WOW! Heidi you are so talented and I love the scriptures God gives you to tie into it all. Miss you!

    • hvalardi
      June 28, 2013

      ~ God is so good and the greatest inspiration! Many thanks for your encouraging words…you are wonderful! 🙂

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2013 by in art, Christianity, decor, easy, easy solution, home decor, paint and tagged , , , , , , , , .
