met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Miracle working power of White paint!

How many of us have felt worn down or washed out? 

I know I have…sometimes just from too much wear and tear!

Our furniture could say the same thing. Fortunately, with furniture there’s an easy fix…and that’s paint. Today, I’m sharing how I’ve used white paint to bring life back to a couple of pieces of furniture…take a look!

Image

We picked up this end table in Myrtle Beach….not at a high end shop, but on the side of the  road, in front of an ocean front condo! Apparently they found no use for it anymore…their loss, my gain!

It came to us in good shape and we used it as is for a while, until recently. It would have to get a fresh coat of white or find itself a new home! I thought, what do I have to lose…nothing!

Another piece given new life with white paint is my two family room chairs. I’m sure you’ve seen them in my Building Character post…

Here’s a before picture of one of the chairs~

Image

The blue fabric isn’t bad, but it’s not what I envisioned here in my family room. I got on line and priced fabric paint, read about the process, read reviews and decided that I could do the same thing with latex paint…and so I did!

Image

The key to doing this is sanding between coats of paint. This softens the paint. With three coats of paint, the chair looks great. We use it and have no problems with cracking! What an easy fix!

*the pillows shown were made out of place mats and can be found on my Plush Place mat Pillow post!

Another piece given new life with white paint isn’t as unusual as the last, but I thought I’d show it anyway…It’s given me a new found love for it!

Here’s the Before…

Image

We have always loved this coffee table because it’s large enough to play games and eat on. There was nothing wrong with it, I just needed to change things up a bit. Do you ever feel that way?

Here’s the After…

Image

What do you think?  What I do know is that I had nothing to lose. We’ve had this for so many years and if I didn’t like the way it came out, oh well….fortunately, I like it!

(How many of you noticed that my cat got in the Before picture and my dog got in the After?) 🙂

For the coffee table, I primed it with Kilz first and then proceeded to apply two coats of white semi-gloss paint. I chose not to sand the edges and have opted for a crisp clean look. I may change my mind here soon, as I’m finding it’s a bit tedious cleaning it all the time!

New Beginnings is just what these furniture pieces got…a new lease on life!

We can have the same fresh start! We could try and get it by painting ourselves white, but that won’t work because we won’t be able to stay white, even if we tried.

So how can we get a fresh start?

Isaiah 1:18   “Come now, let us reason together,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.

It looks like God’s Word says we can be washed to be as white as snow…well, I like that!

First of all, Accepting Jesus into your life is like receiving a fresh coat of white paint, from the inside out!

2 Corinthians5:17  “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

When we receive Him completely, we are born anew in our spirit. We now have the Righteousness of God and our spirit man is completely full of the knowledge of God. At the same time our soul, (our mind, will, and emotions and some say our conscience), go through a process of transformation, called sanctification.

Sanctification is like a process of getting God’s glorious white paint poured over us and over us, until our thoughts and actions are changed to become pure, like Christ!

New beginnings are wonderful. If you need this, ask God to come into your life and wash you as His word promises. He would love to, and will if you ask. He’s just waiting on you!

Let me know if this has been an encouragement to you~ that’s my hearts desire!!!

Always, in His love,

Heidi

3 comments on “Miracle working power of White paint!

  1. David
    June 26, 2013

    Very inspirational and uplifting!

    PS – I did notice the cat in the first table pick but not the dog in the second.

  2. sewtam
    June 26, 2013

    I love the scripture verses and knowing His mercies are new everyday gives comfort and peace. You did a beautiful job with the furniture. I would love to do some dramatic make overs here, I am not sure my sweet Ken would be very supportive of the changes. Miss you ~ we need to get together soon! XOXO

    • hvalardi
      June 26, 2013

      yes we do…let’s look for a good deal for a b&b for the Fall…Charlottesville area maybe! 🙂

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2013 by in Unique design.
