met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Reflect the Light~

There are two ways of spreading light: to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it.
– Edith Wharton

While my children were growing up, I would send them off to school with my final words being, “Shine the Light”! They would smile and give me that look…they heard it often and they knew the secret meaning behind it! 🙂

As I thought about writing this post, all I could think about were the memories made with my children and how beautiful they have become as young adults!

Although I don’t often say “shine the light” to them anymore, I pray it over them. This simple project is a wonderful reminder to do just that…

Image

This mirror picture frame represents my children reflecting the Light of Jesus within, to the world~ It is set up on the new shelf set above the new board and batten project we recently finished in our family room.

011

See, my kids learned at an early age that light is associated with God…It all started in the very beginning…

Gen 1:3   God declared, “Light, be” and there was light.

Gen 1:4   “God saw light and proclaimed it as good.”

As they grew older they learned that they were the light of the world…and they needed to let their light shine, according to Matthew 5:14-16

14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl….let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Image

As I mentioned in my post Create Vignettes, we can apply special meaning to the home decor items we display though out our homes. This frame brings back memories of what I’ve prayed for my children for years, and also reminds me to continue to pray this for them!

They’re not the only ones who need to be reminded to let their Light Shine brightly in this world…I know that I do also. I remind myself to shine with the Arise, Shine wooden sign that I created for that purpose!

If we’re being honest, we’d all agree that we need to Shine the Light of Jesus in this world that is getting increasingly dark…Let’s pray this prayer together:

Father,

In the name of Jesus I come to you. I agree with Heaven for my family to reflect the light of Jesus. I understand that our light is Jesus and as I receive Jesus into my heart and life, I then reflect His light. Therefore, I choose You, Lord Jesus, to come into my heart! I choose to shine for you.

In Jesus’ name I pray!

Amen

I am the beautiful reflection of my love’s affection
A walking illustration of his adoration
His love makes you beautiful, so beautiful, so beautiful
I ask my looking glass, “What is it makes me so exquisite?”
The answer to my query comes back:
“Dearie, his love makes you beautiful, so beautiful, so beautiful…”
– selected lyrics from His Love Makes Me Beautiful,
from the broadway musical Funny Girl by Jule Styne and Bob Merrill

Let’s shine for Jesus,

Love you~  Heidi

5 comments on “Reflect the Light~

  1. David
    June 19, 2013

    I love that picture of your beautiful son and daughter! It is amazing how they are shining the light of our Lord and Savior! Thank you father for such wonderful kids!

  2. hvalardi
    June 19, 2013

    Thank You!

  3. Maureen Mason
    June 19, 2013

    Heidi, this is such a beautiful, heartfelt post. Please keep them coming…I find inspiration in your words that reach places I have forgotten.

    • hvalardi
      June 20, 2013

      Maureen~ hearing that is more encouragement to me than you can imagine! Thank you….

  4. Josh
    September 23, 2013

    It looks like you’ve raised your children with the grace and love that they need to make an impact on the world…that’s so amazing.

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2013 by in Christianity, diy, home decor, Religion and Spirituality and tagged , , , .
