met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

The Summer of Love, baker’s rack~

As I was pulling things together to decorate my baker’s rack for Summer, It kind of took on a theme of it’s own…

Image

….The Summer of Love…It’s official. This Summer will be one filled with great Love!

While I was working on this framed chalk board, I had no idea where I would use it or what it would say, but it hit me while working it into the baker’s rack Summer style change! Here is a picture of what it looked like before……

Image

Tip: It was a great frame and I like the fact that it had no glass and I could paint the chalk board paint directly on to the picture…Easy 3 step project!

1. dry brush frame– the frame I chose was stained brown.  I just wanted to lighten it up a bit, but keep the look of the old. I lightly brushed on some white paint, and sanded lightly when it was dry.

2. paint the “picture” with two or three coats of chalk board paint. Let dry between coats.

3. decide on what you want to say, and how you can use this chalk board to send a message or define your style, etc.

Image

So, as I put things together I noticed that I had a couple of collections started. One collection was special shells I’ve picked up and the other was an assortment of Summer scented Yankee candles. I thought it would be so convenient to have the Summer scents gathered for easy access! I tell you, it’s the little things that make me happy~

The idea of collections worked out well because I had a piece that I recently made that I wanted to display here~ and it represents collections!

Image

You can find easy directions here!

Another project that came about while working on the baker’s rack were these white Coffee Can planters…I knew the look I wanted but didn’t know where to shop to find them, so I looked around the storage shelves in my garage for inspiration…and that’s when I spotted the coffee cans~ and the light bulb went off…

Tip: Before buying what you need at the store, look at what you have! (I’m amazed at what a little bit of spray paint can do.)

Image

Image

They are clearly coffee cans, and I like the simplicity of that!

With that, I have to say, the skies the limit with these, as you could add rope or twine or ribbon. You could really use the shape as a base and do some wonderful, creative things. Let me know what you come up with~

Funny thing about this project. That afternoon, I opened my new Lowe’s Creative Ideas for home and garden and what did I see…

Image

…the painted coffee can idea..great minds think alike!  😉

Well, this blog is chock full of easy projects, and hopefully some of them have inspired you. There’s no greater feeling than spreading the Love, because isn’t that what it’s really ALL about!

This Summer of Love baker’s rack will be a wonderful reminder to my family and anyone who enters my home to Love one another the way our amazing God has loved us!

Psalm 36:5-6 
5 Your love, O LORD, reaches to the heavens, your faithfulness to the skies. 6 Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains, your justice like the great deep. O LORD, you preserve both man and beast.

May your Summer be a Summer of Love!

Heidi  🙂

2 comments on “The Summer of Love, baker’s rack~

  1. David
    June 12, 2013

    I LOVE it!!! Especially the coffee can flower pots. Perhaps I will start drinking coffee so my wife can get some new planters for her birthday, Christmas, and / or Mother’s Day!! LOLOLOL

  2. Ariel
    June 13, 2013

    I totally LOVE this post!!! This is probably my favorite bakers rack design you’ve ever done! 🙂 Puts a big smile on my face every time i look at it. xox

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

