met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

#1 summer mantle diy….shell bottles

Yesterday I made over my family room mantle for Summer~ I counted down the days in anticipation of making this change…I love this kind of thing! For those of you who are like me, you understand…for those that are not, just humor me!  🙂

Image

I promised a quick and easy tutorial on how I made these mantle decorations! I’ll start with the decorative shell bottles! I Absolutely Love these and they were simple to make…

Image

I saw shell bottles on pinterest and on etsy that were nice but there was nothing that really took my breath away. I knew I would have to look around for just the right bottles to make this something special…and I was so psyched when I found these three coordinating bottles. I love the teal tint of the bottles, the size of the bottles, and the design!

1. so #1 is to find a bottle or collection of coordinating bottles that suit your taste and style.

2. next is to simply find fairly large shells to top the bottles. My son brought me these shells from one of his trips, so they are meaningful to me! 🙂

3. next is to attach the shell to the bottle. I’ve seen many things done that make no sense to me, for instance using hot wax or cutting the cork for the shell to fit inside…it just seemed complicated and messy, two things I try to avoid! 🙂 All I did was hot glue the shell to the cork and wrap twine around the area to conceal the glue…short and sweet!

4. lastly, I chose to decorate the bottle with rope, but this is optional. I wrapped the rope a few times around the neck of the bottle and single wraps in other areas. It’s as simple as that!

The interesting thing to me is what these bottles are selling for at gift shops! They are costly, and they’re someone else’s idea of beautiful! There are so many things you could do with these bottles…I’m thinking messages in the bottles for gifts, possibly weddings…oh, the mind is working now!

Whenever I look at these bottles I think of the song by Sting “Message in a Bottle”. Here are a few of the lyrics:

Just a castaway, an island lost at sea, oh
Another lonely day, with no one here but me, oh
More loneliness than any man could bear
Rescue me before I fall into despair, oh
I’ll send an S.O.S. to the world
I’ll send an S.O.S. to the world
I hope that someone gets my
I hope that someone gets my
I hope that someone gets my
Message in a bottle, yeah
Message in a bottle, yeah

A year has passed since I wrote my note
I should have known this right from the start
Only hope can keep me together
Love can mend your life
Or love can break your heart

I use to sing this song all of the time and never realized how depressing it was!  He got one thing right and that’s the line “only hope can keep me together”. We have one hope in this world and it’s not found in something the world has to offer. It’s found in someone who’s offered Himself to the world!

God the Refuge of His People.

Psalm 46:1 “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”

God is so good and so faithful…I’m just so thankful for Him. He IS my refuge and strength and has been there for me when nobody else could be. He will always be my #1 best friend!

Hope you enjoyed this~ humor me and leave a message (below) and I’ll pretend it’s a message in a bottle!  😉

All for Jesus,

Heidi

4 comments on “#1 summer mantle diy….shell bottles

  1. David
    May 31, 2013

    I absolutely love the bottles and the message you have that goes along with it!!! I think we need to go to the beach!!

    • hvalardi
      May 31, 2013

      You’re reading me…I think that’s a great idea…I’ll make the plans! 😉

  2. Mary You
    June 4, 2013

    Lovely summer mantel. Love the bottle collection look!

  3. hvalardi
    June 5, 2013

    Mary You, what style are you going for in your home…what really makes you smile with joy!? 🙂

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by in bottles, Collecting, Glassware, mantle, Message in a bottle, Recreation, rope, shell bottles, shells, summer decor, Unique design and tagged , , , .
