met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Summer Mantle

As the seasons come to an end, I count down the days until it’s the appropriate time to change the decor in my home. I start with the wreath on the front door and work my way through the rooms of my home. Changing the mantle is the highlight for me. 

Today was that special day as I gathered my new shell creations, my shell collection, my driftwood collection and a few home decor items that I thought I might like to use…Almost holding my breath in excitement, I began the process of placing my treasures on the mantle, until I found an arrangement that was pleasing to me!

Image

Image

Image

The colors are simple and soothing. I wanted that for the Summer months. My hopes were that the texture of the driftwood, shells, burlap and sisal rope would be the focal point, balancing the shine of the shell vase and the bottles!

Changing my decor seasonally brings me great joy. As I said earlier, I find myself counting down the days to make these changes…I love the process of creating new arrangements. Seldom do they ever look the same from season to season, and that is exciting to me…

This reminds me of the seasons of life that we go through… Some seasons are wonderful and bring us great joy and others are difficult. The difficult seasons are when we must remember that “this too shall pass” and we will soon cycle out of that season, and enter into a new season.

Ecclesiastes has a lot to say about seasons…

 Ecclesiastes 3:1-8  To everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; a time to gain, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to throw away; a time to tear, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; a time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

In the natural, I look forward to the change in weather, the change in decor, the change of outfits, the change in activities and even the change in coffee flavors! I think the change of routine comes at just the right time! 🙂

With the spiritual cycling in and out of seasons, we don’t really know what the new season will bring, but we do know that God has a purpose in everything that He does~ “a time for every purpose under heaven”…

The more I trust Him with my life, the easier it is to go with the flow in and out of season. I begin to look forward to the next change as He has shown Himself faithful in the last! I embrace Him and look at each and every season as an adventure that I wouldn’t miss for anything!

Image

(There are two projects here that I’d like to share with you~ the decorative bottles and the antique shell frames~ I hope to start those tomorrow!)

So when we get excited about decorating for the new season, let’s also get excited about the spiritual seasons that we are about to enter~ Let’s agree with God for the plans He has for us, trust Him with our whole being, and embrace these changes with anticipation!

***When we choose to do this, we choose to enter into His will and we find things go so much more smoothly!  🙂

If this post has encouraged you, I am blessed. Thanks for joining me…

All for Jesus,

Heidi  🙂

5 comments on “Summer Mantle

  1. David
    May 29, 2013

    I love it!! I believe we are comiing to another change in seasons. Thank you Lord!

  2. clearbrilliantcrystal
    May 31, 2013

    “Let’s agree with God for the plans He has for us, trust Him with our whole being, and embrace these changes with anticipation!”

    I really needed this tonight…really needed this. Thank you, my friend!

    • hvalardi
      June 3, 2013

      I’m so glad that this spoke to you…I think we speak the same language! 🙂

  3. Cindy
    June 2, 2013

    So peaceful. Such a novel idea to swap decorations every season.

    • hvalardi
      June 3, 2013

      Thanks Cindy~ You are such an encouraging friend…I wish we were still neighbors!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2013 by in burlap, decor, easy design, God, Lord, seasonal decorating, shell bottles, shells, summer mantle, Unique design and tagged , .
