met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Building Character…

We finally decided on the project we would attempt to complete over Memorial Day weekend, and we did it….we finished it, and I’m so excited with how it came out!

On paper, we designed a board and batten wall with the goal of adding character to our family room. We wanted the board and batten to be unique, something a little different. We also wanted to work with two colors, while keeping things from getting too busy. I think we accomplished this with the color gray that we selected…not too dark and not too light, just right!

For those who might be interested, the color is Valspar “urban sunrise”!

Here are before, during and after pictures~ look and see how quickly character was developed in this room…

Image

Before: I was actually happy with the before and a bit apprehensive to make changes that might take away from the peaceful feel!

Image

#1 During: I fell in love with the paint color and there was a great big sigh of relief at that point!  Now I began praying that the woodwork wouldn’t be too busy…

Image

#2 During: I really loved it at this point, and contemplated leaving it like this. I liked how it added character and color but not too busy. It had a sleek look about it that I liked…but after consulting with my man, we decided to go for it and complete the vision we had from the beginning!

Image

After: I love it!

Building Character~

We had a vision for adding character to this room and I’m so glad we didn’t stop short of completing this vision! Yes, it was more work, and yes, it was risky as I didn’t want things to get too visually busy, but it paid off. It was worth it!

******Unlike this weekend project, building character in ourselves doesn’t happen so quickly and there’s no shortcut to getting the results you want…but I believe that it’s worth the work and it’s worth the wait!!!

Rom 5:3    “Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings,because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope.”

A way to pray for building character in yourself is to simply ask Jesus to build your character, and to make you more like Him!

He desires this for you more for you than you do for yourself, and because of that, He will surely give you the desires of your heart!  ❤

As I sit here looking at my family room wall…

Image

…I realize that every time I look at this wall, I will remember this post on building our character. I will remember that suffering produces perseverance, perseverance produces CHARACTER, and character produces  hope!

These are character traits that I desire…and results such as HOPE that I need, so I am going for it!

How about you? 🙂   Smile the next time you work on a project that adds character to your home, and remember this post. Let your project be a reminder of the character building process in ourselves!

I pray this post will encourage you…feel free to leave a comment…I love them!!!

All for Jesus,

Heidi  🙂

14 comments on “Building Character…

  1. David
    May 28, 2013

    I guess my character must still be under construction after that project! Too much kneeling and up and down. Love the finished product though!! Happy, happy, happy!

    • hvalardi
      May 28, 2013

      I think God encourages these building projects on our homes just so He can do the work that needs to be done in our hearts! ❤

  2. innercity51
    May 28, 2013

    Nice. You must tell me the name of that color!

  3. Ariel
    May 28, 2013

    So encouraging! Sometimes it’s easy to forget that working on things in our life (i.e. different character traits) takes time…it’s not an overnight process. xox

    • hvalardi
      May 28, 2013

      We are a microwave society that wants everything done fast…but to get the quality character, it must go through the process…and it’s So worth it! 🙂

  4. Linda Davanzo
    May 28, 2013

    I love it!! Can you come and build character in my house?? 😉

    Sent from my iPhone

    • hvalardi
      May 28, 2013

      I’d love to, but I’m afraid your home might already have too much “character”! 😉

  5. Pastor Alyese
    May 28, 2013

    Absolutely inviting and peaceful! I Love It

  6. clearbrilliantcrystal
    May 31, 2013

    Love! Love! Love!

  7. Cindy
    June 2, 2013

    Beautiful! So striking! Have you gone away from the gold paint tones in your home?

    • hvalardi
      June 3, 2013

      Hey Cindy, I still have a few things that are gold in our home, but I’m changing things up a bit…after probably 15 years of the yellows and golds, it’s time! 🙂 How about you?

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

