met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

Prevent window strikes, and save my feathered friends~

I love our two story family room with it’s wonderful wall of windows. It allows us to enjoy the outdoors while we’re indoors! We love watching the birds. I’ll never forget when we first moved here and I looked out these windows one day to see both a bluebird and an eagle for the first time here in Virginia! Although I love many birds, I think these two are my favorite as I feel a connection to both!

We weren’t here long before I realized we’ve got a problem, a Big problem!

We found out that these lovely windows were bird magnets. See the birds can’t see the window glass, and all they see is the reflection of the leaves and trees in the window and they fly right into the glass! As beautiful as this reflective glass is on the outside looking in, it’s deceptive and so harmful to these unknowing birds!

I looked on line for solutions and many of them include using stickers or plastic wrap on the windows. Some solutions include hanging feathers across the windows or hanging tin reflectors….none of these would do. There was one solution that sounded like a possibility, and that was hanging an owl on the house. The idea is that the birds will see the owl and fly in a different direction, in order to stay away from it’s prey!

I thought, I can do this! I found an owl stencil and cut out the owl shape using some left over bead board. Then painted it black, and gave it white eyes. It was so easy!

Image

Making the owl was easy. Unfortunately, we needed to get it attached up high next to the windows the birds like to fly into!  I thank my husband for helping me with this part!  🙂

Image

See how deceptive this is…you can understand why these birds fly right into the window.

Image

I am so relieved to have this owl up and working! We have had no collisions since putting it up. I wanted to give it a couple of weeks before sharing this with you just to make sure it works…and it is a success!  🙂

Do not judge by appearances, but judge with right judgment.”  John 7:24

This is a good reminder for us that things are seldom as they appear. For these birds the windows were deceptive as they reflected their natural environment. At the same time they were dangerous and sometimes deadly. The same goes for us. There are so many things that appear safe and it’s not until we slam into them that we realize their danger!

Pray for discernment and wisdom daily and stay alert to God’s still small voice! 🙂

All for Jesus, and today that includes His precious feathered friends!  🙂

Heidi

4 comments on “Prevent window strikes, and save my feathered friends~

  1. David
    May 22, 2013

    Wow, that sounds like some wonderful husband you have there! I bet he likes birds too!

  2. clearbrilliantcrystal
    May 23, 2013

    I love this! I love seeing God in everything we do!

    • hvalardi
      May 24, 2013

      I know, I love it also…God is so completely awesome, isn’t He!!!!!! 😀

    • David
      May 24, 2013

      Who is that handsome young man in the picture!!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2013 by in easy solution, prevent window strikes, protect, Unique design.
