met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

How to grow Succulents successfully

Last Spring, about this time, there was an article in my Better Homes and Gardens I believe with the most gorgeous terrariums full of succulent plants~ It was love at first sight for me.

This new found love of succulents led me to look up how to plant and keep them alive…well, obviously I was in a hurry because I didn’t take notes and my lovely terrariums started to look not-so-lovely by the end of the Summer!

My BIG mistake was over watering, the next mistake was not giving them enough sun, and the third mistake was planting them along with other plants that did need more water.

What I did do right was dismantle the arrangements and save the succulents that had survived! I planted them outside in my herb garden located in a shady area beside our home~ even though it was shady and got rained on, they made it through the winter, go figure!

Today I decided to bring those terrariums back to life again, I’m so excited!!!

Image

I poured some pea stone on the bottom of the container for good drainage…I like the color and the way it looks also. Then I mixed some pea stone with potting soil and added that to the container. I carefully separated the succulent~ I think it’s called Hens and Chicks~ and placed it in the soil. Then I finished it off with some polished stones!

Image

I decided to work on the other two containers…

Image

I kept the sand on the bottom of this one, but added pea stone to the soil before adding the plant!

Image

The last one was already assembled, I just amended the soil and added more rocks to separate the one plant from the other…I like the looks of the two together!

Image

*check out my rusty coffee can. I use it as a soil scoop, but I think It shall be retired soon! I’ve come up with an alternative that seems a lot cleaner! Check out the milk jug…it’s so easy to make! It works well with soil, mulch or even small pea stone. The best thing of all is…it cost nothing to make! 🙂

Image

The three are finished and looking good. I’ve found a new home for them…my craft room! The window is facing SE, which means it will get plenty of sun. I can adjust the blinds also!

Image

Well, like these succulents, we need to follow specific directions in our lives to grow successfully!

1.  We need to position ourselves to get enough sun, or should I say to get enough of the Son!

2.  We need well drained soil…we get this when we give out some of the “living water” that we take in…we do this by sharing Jesus with others…we are a vessel through which He can flow! (we must not become stagnant, or we’ll rot!)

By following these two simple directions, we position ourselves to thrive!

Additional help:

Signs that the plant isn’t getting enough sun is when it spreads out…it’s desperately seeking the sun! If you look at the plants I planted today, you’ll see they are spread out. (My SE facing window should take care of that!) For us, it’s like our arms are outstretched, desperately asking for help. I believe this is how much of the world is looking right now.

Signs that the plant is not well drained is when the plant itself grows really fat. It may look good at first, but looking deeper you’ll see that the roots are rotting. This is probably what happens to us when we take in God’s truths but don’t share them…in our selfishness, we get fat. The key is to take in and give out…

There are probably so many more wonderful analogies to see here…do you have any to share…if so, please leave a comment…or just leave a comment anyways if this has spoken to you in any way!  Thanks…

All for Jesus,

Heidi

Ps…Happy Planting!  😀

12 comments on “How to grow Succulents successfully

  1. David
    May 7, 2013

    Love it!!!

    • hvalardi
      May 7, 2013

      well, thank you. I will never grow tired of your words of encouragement! 🙂

  2. clearbrilliantcrystal
    May 8, 2013

    I absolutely love how you mix a practical, physical lesson with a spiritual one. Love!

  3. Kim Hood
    May 8, 2013

    Thank you, Heidi, for the succulent information, and the spiritual parallel. I agree totally. And, it is…all for Jesus. 🙂 Wonderful post!

    • hvalardi
      May 8, 2013

      Thank you, Kim! As I’m new to the blog world, I really, really appreciate your encouragement! 🙂

  4. Cindy
    May 9, 2013

    Love the pebbles and sand idea. Makes such a pretty decoration! Robynn would love this.

    • hvalardi
      May 9, 2013

      …maybe you can request it for Mother’s Day…

      xoxo

  5. Peggy Fox
    July 30, 2013

    Ah Kim ..Thank you for bringing The Lord Jesus Christ ,Into teaching about these beautiful plants!! These days folks like you are rare..at least on the Internet .. So glad I found your website!! A wonderful blessing!!

  6. Peggy Fox
    August 6, 2013

    Hi Kim ..have been making terreriums and they are turning out beautiful ,,I added small. Bat. Lites and looks great!! Thanks for your help!! God Bless!

  7. Peggy Fox
    August 6, 2013

    So sorry Heidi .. I got your name wrong!!! ): But I know you wii forgive me!! (:

  8. Rebecca
    December 6, 2013

    Oh my goodness! Where has this post been my entire life?? I really want to make this but have always felt a bit overwhelmed! Now I have instructions! Although I still fully plan to come over and make this under your expert guidance, haha! The picture with those three containers together is so beautiful!! I also enjoyed reading your insight on the spiritual analogies!

    • hvalardi
      December 6, 2013

      Ahh, thanks so much Rebecca~ you’re so encouraging! ❤ love ya!

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on May 7, 2013 by in Garden, Plant, Succulent plant, terrarium, Unique design and tagged , , , , .
