met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

What am I?

Yesterday I was a desk for a young girl, but today I’m not sure what I am! I’m feeling worn out and tired!  I was purchased at a yard sale by a woman who said she had plans for me…I’m excited to see what I’ll become!  It feels like I’ve waited so long…I hope that I’ll have purpose again…Can you please just tell me Who I Am?

Here is a picture of me,  the way I use to be…

001          003

..and this woman has been working on me all day, but she’s not nearly done with me…I still don’t know who I am and what I’ll become…this is what I look like now, in this in-between state…

009

Do you ever feel like this old desk…I know I do!

I’ve often felt on the verge of a breakthrough, a change that will thrust me into my purpose, my calling, my destiny, just to wait and wait and see nothing. There’s a strong part of me that sometimes just wants to give up, but there’s a stronger part of me that says it’ll all be worth it if I wait.

Like this little old desk, we are waiting to see some part of our purpose fulfilled. Unlike this desk, we’re not at the mercy of some woman who loves to yard sale! 😉  We are in the hands of a Mighty God who loves us unconditionally and knows the beginning from the end!

While waiting impatiently today for my paint to dry, I picked up my book to read this poem. I thought it was so appropriate for how I have felt, and most likely how many of you have felt at some point…and of course how my little old desk must be feeling!  🙂

Here’s a portion of the poem Someday I’ll Fly

…It’s become too easy to not be anything, just a cocoon. 

I want to give up, but You won’t let me.

I’m not the caterpillar I used to be

and I’m not the butterfly I know I am becoming.

Becoming a butterfly is scary, painful and exhausting.

I guess I don’t want to remain a nothing,

so I’ll endure the torturous path out of this cocoon.

And I know, someday, I’ll fly!

~Victoria Boyson

Caterpillars are ugly, Butterflies are gorgeous, and God delights in making something beautiful out of something ugly!

Romans 8:28     “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose”

So let’s trust Him, that His timing is perfect and that He knows when we’ll be ready to Fly!

~Oh, and by the way, Our sweet little old desk wants you to know that very soon she will have found her purpose…she says to stay tuned!  🙂

All for Jesus,

Heidi

4 comments on “What am I?

  1. Cindy
    May 6, 2013

    Can’t wait to see what the desk becomes!! Beautiful symbolism!

    • hvalardi
      May 6, 2013

      Thanks Cindy~ In the fullness of time this desk is gonna shine! 😉

  2. David
    May 7, 2013

    Wow, what a beautiful comparison between the desk and us and how God can use an old worn out person from the scrap heap of life and transform them into His purpose!!! Awesome!! Looking forward to Great things to come!

    • hvalardi
      May 7, 2013

      I love the “scrap heap of life” analogy…thanks love! 😀

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2013 by in Butterflies, calling, desk, destiny, furniture, Garage sale, Garden, makeover, Outdoors, purpose, Recreation, Unique design, Wildlife and tagged , .
