met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

shell decor with a twist…

    I don’t know about you but I’m loving the trend for more natural decor in the home. 

So when I had the opportunity to create home decor for an art gallery at the beach, I decided I better see what’s popular with beach themed decorations…

I did some research online for ocean themed decor such as shell wall hangings and various shell art for the home.  I could not believe the asking prices for much of what I had discovered. This, of course, gave me momentum in designing and creating like a wild woman!

Here’s a shell wall hanging that came from that momentum…

Image

1.  I spray painted an antique wood frame black, then lightly sanded areas to bring out the wood.

2. I wrapped the back of the frame in a beautiful upholstery fabric, but burlap is often used and works well for a more rustic look. I used duct tape to hold the fabric in place. I chose it over glue or hot glue because of the thickness of the fabric…You know what they say, “when the going gets tough, the tough use duct tape”!  🙂

3. I laid out the design and then glued the metal 3 and the 3 shells with E6000 glue, although hot glue would work as they are light in weight!

That’s it, as easy as that…

…and as far as the art gallery taking my creations….well, that didn’t happen, but I’m really alright with that. The idea of having my work there gave me the courage to design things I’ve never tried before and to really step out of the box…and for that I am grateful! 🙂

I know God is in control, because I daily give Him control of my life. I pray for His will to be done in every area of my life. That gives me peace when things don’t go as I would have wanted!

Jer. 29:11 “I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

In His hands, always and forever,

Heidi

Please leave a comment if this encourages you…..I know it’ll encourage me to hear from you! 🙂

10 comments on “shell decor with a twist…

  1. Cindy
    May 1, 2013

    Have you checked out etsy.com? It’s an online craft store. People sell arts and crafts on there. Maybe that will become your sales platform. You never know.

    • hvalardi
      May 1, 2013

      I have thought about it but haven’t looked into it yet…! 🙂

  2. Joy
    May 2, 2013

    So glad He knows the plans!

    • hvalardi
      May 2, 2013

      Hey Joy, me too…It takes the pressure off of us, we don’t need to strive! Love you. 🙂

  3. Linda
    May 2, 2013

    Heidi! I think your creations are lovely! How about finding a little shop that does consignment! I know your stuff would sell and I can totally see you decorating your space so inviting!!! If I were there, I would do it with you! Wouldn’t that be a blast!?

    • hvalardi
      May 2, 2013

      Hey Linda~ I know I have a few options, but just need to step out! And Yes, I would love to do this with someone else, now that would be even More Fun!

  4. David
    May 2, 2013

    Heidi, you have such a natural God given gift for creating things out of seemingly nothing! What a blessing!

    • hvalardi
      May 2, 2013

      Thank you David~ that really blesses me!!! 😀

  5. Sarah
    May 2, 2013

    What does the 3 symbolize? And you rock!

    • hvalardi
      May 2, 2013

      Sarah~ The three symbolizes my three nephews…Nels, Ralph and Adam! 😛

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2013 by in art, create, frame, ocean, shell, Unique design.
