met•a•mor•pho•sis living:

~experiencing fulfillment in seeing transformation happen in both the natural, your home, and the spiritual, your inner self~ How creating beauty in your home can stimulate inner spiritual growth!

the metamorphosis of a tacky lamp…

~Have you ever lived with a piece of furniture, a lamp or wall hanging for so long that you stop seeing its beauty, or worst than that, it’s lack of beauty? That’s how I felt about a floor lamp we had in our family room. One day recently I looked at it and thought, “this is boring and outdated, and really just plain ugly”.

I guess I had it for so long, I just stopped noticing it! (side note: I think I might need to go through the entire house and look at things with “new” eyes!) 😉

While I’m at it, It might be wise for me to take a look at MYSELF with “new” eyes, objective eyes, to see how beautiful I have been lately…you know how well we can identify the speck in others eyes and never see the log in our own eye! We can ask ourselves if we’ve been loving our family, neighbors, and even strangers in a manner that would please God, or have we been “boring, outdated and just plain ugly”…Ouch, that hurt!

~Here’s the lamp. I love it now!! (insert big smile)

With the butterfly shade, I thought it would be an appropriate first post for metamorphosis living!

Cost:

1.the floor lamp=  no cost, have had it for ages!

2. the spray paint= no cost, had it already and it really didn’t take much for this project!

3. rope= no cost, had the rope already!

4. lamp shade= under $6.00 (clearance at Target!)

Total= $6.00

Hope you like it!

What kind of lamp transformations have you tackled?

All for Jesus,

Heidi

Image

3 comments on “the metamorphosis of a tacky lamp…

  1. hvalardi
    April 19, 2013

    Sorry there’s no before picture…just imagine a crackled tan lamp with a bell shade with beads. It really wasn’t awful, but just worn looking! 🙂

  2. Linda
    April 26, 2013

    Hmmm gives me ideas! I often wonder if I need a makeover! You know, we look at ourselves everyday and maybe we just don’t see what others do, inside and out!

    • hvalardiHeidi
      April 26, 2013

      I know, that’s scary isn’t it~ I think about that when I keep the same hair style for a long time…I liked it back then, so it must be nice…NOT! 😀

You share your love when you share your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2013 by in Beauty, diy, easy, Family room, God, Home and Garden, inexpensive, Lampshade, spraypaint, Unique design and tagged , , , .
